We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really awful, terrible service”

The Buttery At The Crypt
Ranked #70 of 236 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Buttery at The Crypt is a 12th century building with amazing stone arches having been restored in previous years, we have seating for 60 people in our Cafe Tearoom and offer from 9.00am full English Breakfasts, a range of delicious cakes and Gateaux,morning coffee/Teas Speciality teas Ahmad of London, cappuccinos lattes, milkshakes. Light lunches, Daily chefs Specials,soup. toasties, Baguettes, omlettes, sandwiches, Homecooked Ham free range eggs and chips, Homemade shortcrust Pie of the day with fresh vegetables.Our cakes range from Carrot cake, Apple cake, coffee and walnut Cake, millionaires shortbread and more. Available all day are our wonderful Clotted cream Teas, and other Set Teas available all Day. Licensed and open 7 days a week.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really awful, terrible service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Took ages to take our order, I wondered at one point whether I was invisable. It wasn't even busy.

After exceptionally long wait the food was disappointing. Frozen dinner for one. Stale bread for a£6.00 sandwich (without chips).

Waitress completely forgot to bring one of the hot drinks.

Terrible atmosphere.

Such a shame, always looked nice but is not the case and I will never return.

Has also put me off the two Buttery's in the New Forest, a place I visit regularly (they are part of same group).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DashyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    79
    40
    23
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Terrible frozen food and awful service”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I travelled down from London expecting nice fresh fish and chips. After asking the wiator questions to which he knew no answers, such as is the fish fresh, portion size etc the owner informed me you couldn't buy fresh fish? Huh? The restautant is silent, no music all you can hear is the microwave. Avoid for anything more than a cup of tea

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Have a very nice lunch here. Menu had a good selection of sandwiches, cakes, jacket potatoes and specials. Food was served promptly and was very nice. Would happily revisit.

Helpful?
Thank morag w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a let down!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

On a visit to Chichester, & looking for a Light Lunch, we called into 'The Buttery'.
The place itself was outstanding, Arches & Architecturally superb.BUT!!!
Served up Toast, which was barely fitting of the title, being both Pale & Floppy!!
Crumpets Toasted please, was our request, Insipid barely any colour, & droopy, were served!
The Butterpats were extremely tasty. A member of our group has Parsnip Soup, which was good.
Poor showing 1out of 5 satisfactory.....
Staff seemed totally unaware of the way to use a Toaster!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maldonian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We realised we had not had a cream tea, so decided on our last day to have this special treat.

We’re going to Crumbs and Creams unfortunately they had run out of scones so they directed us to The Buttery At The Crypt.

The cream tea was okay, placing our order and service was really slow even though not that many people in and most were having the cream teas. Portion size of the scone was massive and lovely and warm but could have done with a bit more tea. As most places when we ask for two teas we are usually given two pots.

Tables were sticky as though had not been cleaned for ages. A very odd smell about the place but that could be due to the old style crypt.

Reasonable priced afternoon tea compared to most places in the town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buttery At The Crypt also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Bognor Regis, Arun District
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Buttery At The Crypt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing