We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and excellent service in a delightful setting”
Review of The Star & Garter

The Star & Garter
Ranked #62 of 247 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb food and excellent service in a delightful setting”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

A weekend break from the city found us dining at The Star and Garter after a recommendation from friends living in the area. What a treat! Accurately cooked food from an understated menu coupled with casual yet professional service made for a fantastic evening out. Between the six of us we enjoyed local sourced pigeon, lemon sole, succulent fillet of beef (with an outstanding pepper sauce) and perfectly spiced cajun swordfish steaks. The kitchen delivered a faultless succession of dishes served by attentive, friendly staff. We will be returning!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This restaurant caters for all tastes and apetites. Pigeon is highly recommended as is all the game. Good atmosphere and service and a good welcome. They seem to be able to maintain standards even when quiet or full.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fdwD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely location and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My daughter treated the family to a meal here, having been recommended to her by colleagues at work. We went on a freezing cold December evening and I have to say the food was amazing, a very comprehensive menu and personal, friendly service. I have previously had a snack on Sunday lunchtime and the garden is beautiful - nestled on the South Downs. A thoroughly lovely experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aebromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food delivered with real service in a lovely pub”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The management were very apologetic because they were having back of house issues, we would never have known, but to compensate us for invisible issues we were looked after royally, really lovely people trying hard to make sure the seven of us were okay, good food on time served with genuine warmth, well done you guys and gals

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NevilleL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We bought voucher through Groupon and tried the Star and Garter for the first time and we were very pleasantly surprised having read some of the reviews on here. The pub has a lovely feel, the service, food and wine were all excellent and including the voucher we had a starter, two mains, two deserts, three glasses of wine and a pint of lager for £42. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bevldavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star & Garter also viewed

Singleton, Chichester
Chichester, West Sussex
 
East Lavant, Chichester
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Star & Garter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing