We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT THE BEST IN TOWN - BUT IT IS VERY GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY ONE PAYS!”
Review of The Barn Harvester

The Barn Harvester
Ranked #15 of 239 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Barn Harvester in Chichester food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Chichester, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Westhampnett, Kingsham and Boxgrove, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Chichester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOT THE BEST IN TOWN - BUT IT IS VERY GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY ONE PAYS!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Been eating here since inception - around ten years. Good times and not so good times. But without a doubt as far as chain-restaurants go it is good value for money. The salads are not always up-to-scratch and one must nearly always remind the staff that the individual salad bins require replenishing.

If you are looking for a pleasent atmosphere and inexpensive food, then this is one of the best places to go. It's not the ritz, which is reflected in the price. But there is nothing else in the area which gives better value. If there was, then be sure hundreds of seemingly happy customers like us would go there.

The staff are always polite and more than willing to help. If you are not satisfied with your meal, they are always quick and happy to sort things out, and ready to replace if necessary.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank regsteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Barn Harvester, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Barn Harvester on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    147
    72
    56
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“For this chain its superb”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have been to this Harvester on my own with family and with friends and never had a bad meal or bad service , The staff are always happy and keen to keep you happy as well !
The food has always been well cooked and hot and well presented yes its a chain but you can even mess this up !The restaurant is always kept clean and tables cleaned down quickly .
The salad bar is always kept full and fresh also.

This is a good Harvester ……………see my thoughts on the one in Aylesbury as to a bad one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Barn Harvester, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
May we thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us at The Barn Harvester. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very friendly with good food”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Second time we have been to The Barn and both times we have had really good food. The service is nice and friendly and there is no feeling of being rushed. Would recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotlandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Barn Harvester, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Barn Harvester a good place to eat, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible and we hope you will help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The worst resturant I have ever been to”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I really did not want to go here having been a few years ago but a family member wanted to go. Really cannot be called s resturant as the so called food was apalling

The free salad bar is stale and old with salad clearly being purchased cheaply near its sell.by date as it was just tired and old

I did not think they could go wrong with grilled chicken jacket potato and peas but i was so wrong the chicken was i believe precooked as it tasted like rubber, the jacket potato tasted like it was cooked a few days ago

I got told by the waitress to be carefull.of the plate as it was hot yes it was on one side the other was freezing cold

Others with me also had the same problems with their food with the worst fish and chips i have ever seen just swimming in fat and oil

Ever the drinks were bad with the bitter tasting stale

The staffs attitude is not much better even when asking for the bill taking a long time and then complaining they were busy

Just dont go .... You would get better quality food from the garbage bags outside mcdonalds

Helpful?
Thank RSTE1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Barn Harvester, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are very sorry to hear that the meal you had at The Barn Harvester was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“What was once a pleasant place to eat unfortunately has now become disappointing”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I had one of my Christmas work lunches here a couple of years ago and vowed never to eat here again as service was lousy pre ordered food was wrong and when finally arrived was cold and steak over cooked etc. However I have ended up meeting friends for lunch at harvester on occassions as its a mutal meeting place and have been pleasantly surprised and have enjoyed my meal and a reasonable price. As a result of this I have been several times with my husband and family and friends of ours and have always had a pleasant meal good price and staff very friendly(which they normally are) Unfortunately the last few times we have come the food has not been up to scratch and sometimes been cold and wrong food given but the staff are very good and sort it out so we have not been put of Untill yesterday . We were sat right opposite the toilets which is fair enough however the disabled toilet opens out onto the restaurant and when people used it would leave the door wide open do we were left looking at the toilet. I kept shutting it but unfortunately it become blocked and overflowed so once again when someone left the door wide open we were left looking at it and the smell was terrible. We asked to move tables which the staff were happy to do for us but I really think the disabled toilet situation needs to be reviewed and I wonder just how hygienic it is. The whole time we were there the toilet was not cleaned or dealt with even though I had said about it and the smell. When I food finally arrived once again it was either under cooked or overcooked ,not the right food arriving ,cold etc . Unfortunately this is happening too often now . Will we come back again probably not now.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirlouayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Barn Harvester, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to the Barn Harvester. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn Harvester also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Barn Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing