We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Face Lift”
Review of The Barn Harvester

The Barn Harvester
Ranked #17 of 256 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At The Barn Harvester in Chichester food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Chichester, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Westhampnett, Kingsham and Boxgrove, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The complaint is not about the food, good value. It's not about the staff, very friendly. We asked to be by a window, fine. The whole place just needs a clean and redecoration. I was sat by a lamp on a windowsill which was broken and had splash marks all over the shade. The paintwork looks grubby and the whole place is looking tired. Shame because it let's itself down.

Thank Nettielou59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Barn Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 652 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Can't fault the Barn - staff always polite and helpful even if they do get a bit busy. Food always great and of good quality and spot on for the prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PetworthStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Barn Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Barn Harvester. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

we have just returned from breakfast at the barn and will definitely not be returning.
both of our breakfasts were 'chargrilled' that basically means tasting of every meal cooked on the grill the night before.
the bacon tasted more like beef because of the grill and so did the sausages, toast, tomato and mushrooms.
thank goodness for the baked beans, at least they did not have to go through the 'char grill' treatment.
it is also lacking in customer service and atmosphere.
shame because the grill and salad bar are usually very good..but not brekkie.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MARTYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Barn Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to The Barn Harvester. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all customer feedback and are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can and we have written to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice meal and good service. Only niggles were the salad bar needs greater care & maintaining especially in busier times. My husband had the mixed grill and for the amount of steak we thought it was quite expensive. However we are still happy to return; we will just keep these factors in mind.

Thank MRS-EJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Barn Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Barn Harvester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I have been going to the Barn Harvester for some ten years. Mostly, we are very satisfied with just about everything. Yesterday, we ordered two Baked Potato''s, both were cold. The waiteress did offer to take them back. But we had already started on the chicken, so we declined. This has happened to us a few times. The main problem being - It would appear that, the baked potatos are cooked before the chicken, and left on the side whilst the chichen is cooked, thus when the whole meal is plated-up the potato's have gone cold.

Considering the number of times that I have mentioned this to staff, I would have thought the problem would be solved by now.

Additionally:
No small sized ice-cream choices, and the price's of most deserts are expensive. And baby rack of ribs is expensive for it's size. When cleaning, underneath the tables seems to get missed, leaving customers standing on bits of waste food.. I think dedicated cleaners ought to be employed, and not left up to the busy-waiters to do the cleaning, who can then concentrate looking after the customers.

Apart from that, the food is normally very good, especially the salad bar.

The waiters are mostly very friendly, which makes it all that much more enjoyable eating there..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank regsteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Barn Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Barn Harvester. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn Harvester also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Barn Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing