We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with delicious food”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed one night here, reception staff very polite but could be considered so efficient they were a little impersonal. Hotel room was lovely with local personal touches which are probably only appreciated if you live in the vicinity! Food was of excellent quality the taste was fresh and of quality produce. We had a massage in the Waterbeach Spa which was lovely and the staff were very attentive.
Only dislike of the hotel is that it is very spread out and signage is rather minimal very confusing at thimes!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrymaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel. We booked quite late and had the last available room which was a twin room. The manager very kindly called the day before we arrived to inform us there had been a flood in the main restuarant and gave other dinning options.
When we arrived the staff were pleasant and well turned out. The room was well appointed however I do agree with some of the reviews ref the very dim lighting in the whole room making hair drying and map up applying very difficult.
We ate in the restaurant next to the spa, good menu with lots of choice and breakfast was great.
The hotel is quite spread out so you could be quite a distance from the reception and the residents bar etc.

Room Tip: depends what you like and how mobile you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The problem with the Goodwood hotel is that it is too big. The delightful frontage as you drive in is really a facade behind which there are acres and acres of low slung tunnels (presumably a planning restriction) set out in a bit of a confusing maze, off which are bedrooms and other facilities.

I cannot fault the staff. Very helpful. Extremely polite. The breakfast was excellent and again service was without fault.

But there is something of the production line at this Hotel that doesn't match up to its up-market image. Its vast maze of low slung tunnels, albeit tastefully decorated, give the whole place a feeling of anonymity not reflected by the elegant reception. The swimming pool is too small and was crowded, but to be fair this was half term.

The rooms are comfortable, with excellent beds, clean and tasteful, but no more than that. There is reasonable internet access in the rooms and a nice touch was the very helpful receptionist who arranged a large bucket of ice for the room free of charge, knowing full well we were drinking our own wine.

It's a good place to stay if you get a deal there or through booking.com or other portals, and I don't wish to appear less than complimentary about the excellent service. But it is just too anonymous and vast to be considered a "character" hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had never heard of this hotel prior to booking. Much larger than expected and very modern and spic & span. Nice room, well appointed and excellent housekeeping. All staff very courteous, friendly and very efficient. Being greeted by name when phoning room service was impressive. Food very good indeed. Would not hesitate to visit again. A small chimney fire caused the fire alarm to activate during dinner, the evacuation was handled brilliantly and calmly by the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VandCHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We recently organised a business conference at the hotel. We were given rooms in different parts of hotel as we were a group of 40 sales leaders. Each and every room was spacious, very well kept and excellently decorated. Each room had individual touch in decor .. Like Aeroplanes, golf and other memorabilia used. Good touch was collection of books kept in the rooms all selected carefully.
Bar is small study coverted but is well stocked and very cozy. Dinner was served in a private room for us which was a good fusion of Asian and English food. Breakfast is cooked based on your order with full English BF and other selections.
Overall amazing location, great service by staff and fabulous facilities for business conferences and family groups. Would love to go back there with family for a weekend break sometime soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank langleykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Goodwood Hotel for two nights. We had a kingsize room, the bed was huge and very comfortable, the room and en-suite were clean and complimentary tea/coffee were available. Breakfast was good, you have a selection of different meal choices from the hot menu and there is also a buffet with cereal, breads, fruit etc. The service was excellent and staff throughout the hotel were polite and helpful. The indoor pool and spa area are perfect for relaxing although it did get busy during the afternoons. The gym has state of the art equipment and there is always someone on hand to help you. We were looking for somewhere pleasant and relaxing to stay and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley-Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night with another couple. We had lunch in the spike bar over looking the 18th green which was very good. The gents played the park golf course which is enjoyable without being too difficult, the windy conditions and recent heavy rain didn't spoil our enjoyment of it. The indoor pool, sauna and steam room etc were very good. The signature king rooms we both stayed in were excellent and looked very recently refurbished with a huge super king bed, nice furniture and contemporary bathroom. We ate our evening meal in the excellent Richmond arms, having pre and post dinner drinks in the welcoming bar area. All 4 of us felt both the food and service were excellent. Breakfast was in the grill again overlooking the 18th green. Again the food and service were excellent. The overriding impression of our stay though were all the excellent staff, from the golf, reception, health club, spike bar, Richmond Arms bar, Restaurant, breakfast in the Grill, cleaners and finally reception when we sadly left the hotel. Without exception the service was genuinely friendly, courteous and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masmojet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
659 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: £138 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, Waterbeach treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing