We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and very Calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfy and very Calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

It is a pleasure to find a Hotel like this. I have stayed here probably 8 times or so about 3 months apart in time. Each visit had been a delight. The rooms are very well equipped and the beds are super comfy!
The restaurant is professionally run and the service and food are consistent in their high level of quality. It is the sort of place I would recommend to any of my long term friends looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JeremyC506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    420
    198
    79
    41
See reviews for
218
745
35
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Have not yet stayed overnight, as we are getting married here in April, we had our menu tasting last night and were treated like royalty. Fantastic food made it hard to chose which dish we want for our wedding breakfast. The staff all knew why we were there and asked how the tasting had been. Met the chef who cooked for us and who will prepare the food on the big day.

The staff are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble!

Would recommend in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keely E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Excellent for a romantic weekend. We stayed in a character room which was fab. The bathrooms were lovely. Can't comment on the normal rooms. Not too far from London and Chichester is a lovely City to wander around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Facilities were all very good- however not quite the quaint country house get away we expected! We had an overall relaxing experience however, would not the treatment spa- as this was overpriced and lacking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I booked this hotel because on Secret Escapes it looked like a fabulous period boutique getaway with a superb restaurant. The reality is that very little is period. Most of the rooms are modern, but very stylish, beautifully decorated and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The downsize is that on days when there aren't many customers the restaurant is closed and guests have to eat in the Bar & Grill. It's not particularly nice and the food is utterly appalling. I had the £25 steak and it was the worst steak I've ever had, tough and overcooked, far worse than the £6.99 steak at my local grill.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strider09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food during your stay with us and I do hope the letter we sent to your partner this week helps to answer the issues that you have raised. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Jane Goodyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Met here with about 20 colleagues. The main dining room had some good menus but lacked atmosphere. Lunch and dinner good but breakfast somewhat sterile. Nice bedroom with good bath and shower although the bath plug inserted itself and would not release after a shower. Meeting room a bit low tech by modern business standards but it was great to get out of London and into the countryside for a few days. Good parking. Note this is one of those modern hotels covering a large area but only two stories high. So no lift and a long walk to the rooms. Overall fine but not particularly memorable.

Room Tip: Near reception to avoid long corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Have just returned from a wonderful night at The Goodwood Hotel. The staff were extremely professional as well as being super cheerful and friendly. The room was lovely, the bed extremely comfortable. The spa looked lovely, although we didn't have time to use it. We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar and grill and the most wonderful dinner in The Richmond Arms. Breakfast was equally as good and again, the staff in the restaurants were fantastic. We went for the breakfast and dinner option and felt that it was extremely good value for money. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushbetang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Property: The Goodwood Hotel
Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing