We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not a luxury hotel experience.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Seer Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but not a luxury hotel experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Took a suite for a Saturday night on last minute impulse. £310 so not cheap by most peoples standards. Nothing really to criticise. The room was very good, well designed, clean, tidy. The restaurant served excellent food. The staff were helpful. But it just didn't feel like a luxury hotel experience. The hotel is an attractive annex to a spa club and golf course with interconnecting (long) corridors. Too far and too public to walk to the spa in your towelling robe. Many of the guests were in very large groups, probably a reflection of the complex's ability to be a large venue for weddings and parties etc. We had breakfast at 10am and had to wait 15 mins to get a table. We had dinner the night before and although the food was excellent the wine list was appalling. We rejected the first two glasses of red wine as they were crude imitations of what they should have been. At £10 a glass they should have been much much better. To be fair they were replaced without murmur and we weren't charged for the rejects.

I would go there again with my golf club or for a party but not for a luxurious spa weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorTravelPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    417
    197
    80
    41
See reviews for
216
735
35
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Took my hubby here to celebrate his 40th birthday, had a fantastic weekend. Rooms are lovely and clean, staff are friendly and helpful and the food in both restaurants is delicious.... Especially the chocolate pudding in the Richmond Arms and the sticky toffee pudding in the Bar and Grill.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding what a wonderful day we had can't fault anything staff very friendly, rooms are lovely, food was excellent and a lovely spa to finish the weekend. The grounds are lovely to walk round if you play golf like old cars then this hotel is great for you there are lots of places to visit in the area too. Thank you to all the staff for making this such a enjoyable stay

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was lovely to sit and have our morning coffee and a night cap in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We came to Goodwood for my boyfriend's 30th birthday. I booked the 'Classic Car Break' which was everything advertised and more. The food was amazing and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud, could not have asked for more. Absolutely first class.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Briony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

As everyone else said this is a really great hotel. Very stylie without being over the top.. and despite being very beautiful and chic I was still made to feel very welcome with our four year old in tow. The staff were friendly and helpful, the pool facilities great - lovely warm water for little ones, and the food at the bistro was fantastic (chocolate mouse was to die for).

However, what impressed me most was the way the hotel is laid out and just swallows people up, so you never really feel like you're with loads of other people, helping keep that sense of relaxed calm that pervades the place. When we stayed I had the sense that the place was pretty near full and had a wedding on in their conference/function room area. Despite this, you only noticed on that there was a wedding party in full flow when you walked back from the pool (and definitely never heard them which can't be said for lots of hotels).

Another little thing that really impressed me was the bedroom. When we booked a standard room and asked for a third bed for our son, we were told that would be fine, but we should be warned the room would be a little snug... However, the room was absolutely great, even with a 'z' bed put in it (even by american bedroom standards!). AND, they only put the z bed in the room just before bedtime so that we would have 'more space when we needed it' as the lovely lady who showed us our room explained. Brilliant! How can you fault service like this??!

And to put this all into context, when we were looking to spend a night in the Chichester area, we also considered a room at the Holiday Inn (which would have been fine). But I'm SO glad we spent the extra £45 and stayed here. It feels like we've found a gem on a hotel. I can't wait to find an excuse to come back....

(I gave the spa a three, not because there was anything wrong with it, but simply that we couldn't get an appointment.. I'm sure it's lovely)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyPCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Overall a lovely hotel with great facilities. Our evening meal was lovely but the reason I've only given it four stars was the poor quality of the full English breakfast; the Black pudding was like boot leather.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks very much for your feedback regarding breakfast which we will follow up with the Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Bed was super comfortable.

Hallway was like a maze.

Cooked breakfast was of average quality. Breakfast staff stingy with fruit juce.

Reception staff rude and dislike guest wearing trainers arriving in cheap Japanese sports car. Maybe I'll arrive in my McLaren wearing my business suit and request that rude staff and get down and lick my shoes should I return.

I rarely sleep comfortablely in a hotel, on this rare visit I did sleep extremely well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and for sharing this directly with the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
6.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Property: The Goodwood Hotel
Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing