We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“April stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“April stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Expensive, beautiful location, comfy beds but could do with some attention to detail to the rooms.
Did not use pool area as lots of children in there.
Staff helpful and friendly
Kennels restaurant superb!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Francis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    417
    197
    80
    41
See reviews for
216
735
35
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Really nice place for a short break - great location, really comfortable rooms. Love the pool. Food was fine - they'd run out of the fish on the specials menu even though we ate quite early. Apart from that it was all great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

There's a lot to like about The Goodwood - comfortable rooms, excellent spa, good restaurant and bars - the only downside is it's directional signage - a mix of illegible (embossed metallic might look nice, but is illegible in sunlight) & confusing (I thought it might be only me who couldn't find reception, but then I met another group of guests equally baffled) - a case of aesthetics over the function - a shame.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Went to Goodwood Hotel for a pampering weekend, the spa is only a few treatment rooms,with very inexperienced staff, the was chaos in the restaurant for breakfast and had to wait in the bar for a table for 10 minutes. The hotel is noisy if you get a room overlooking the car park, with drunken guests - not a place for a relaxing weekend.It was unimpressive from the start with rooms not ready by 3pm and the spa staff sid and I quote they can not cope!! the reception staff thought this was amusing.......I did not!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback directly to the Hotel, and I would like to reiterate my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seer Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Took a suite for a Saturday night on last minute impulse. £310 so not cheap by most peoples standards. Nothing really to criticise. The room was very good, well designed, clean, tidy. The restaurant served excellent food. The staff were helpful. But it just didn't feel like a luxury hotel experience. The hotel is an attractive annex to a spa club and golf course with interconnecting (long) corridors. Too far and too public to walk to the spa in your towelling robe. Many of the guests were in very large groups, probably a reflection of the complex's ability to be a large venue for weddings and parties etc. We had breakfast at 10am and had to wait 15 mins to get a table. We had dinner the night before and although the food was excellent the wine list was appalling. We rejected the first two glasses of red wine as they were crude imitations of what they should have been. At £10 a glass they should have been much much better. To be fair they were replaced without murmur and we weren't charged for the rejects.

I would go there again with my golf club or for a party but not for a luxurious spa weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorTravelPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Took my hubby here to celebrate his 40th birthday, had a fantastic weekend. Rooms are lovely and clean, staff are friendly and helpful and the food in both restaurants is delicious.... Especially the chocolate pudding in the Richmond Arms and the sticky toffee pudding in the Bar and Grill.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding what a wonderful day we had can't fault anything staff very friendly, rooms are lovely, food was excellent and a lovely spa to finish the weekend. The grounds are lovely to walk round if you play golf like old cars then this hotel is great for you there are lots of places to visit in the area too. Thank you to all the staff for making this such a enjoyable stay

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was lovely to sit and have our morning coffee and a night cap in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Property: The Goodwood Hotel
Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing