We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great location, excellent facilities, great food, amazing service, slightly tired rooms though. Garden room not worth the extra £40 a night. Booked an early check in only be told we would have a three hour wait. Strong smell of cigar smoke in room odd for a non-smoking hotel!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,063 - 1,069 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked one night stay at the hotel with the combined dinner deal. First off the room was lovely despite being round the far side of the hotel. We used the pool facilities and sampled the local ale in the Richmond Arms, prior to our amazing evening meal in restaurant. The Pig's Head starter was lovely and the smoked Sirloin steak main - out of this world, even by my wife's standards (and she is a Chef!). Breakfast was just as good. The staff were attentive and most helpful from booking in to the restaurant management. We had a most relaxing break which is what we wanted and what we got, yes its seen as expensive as some say on here but it meets its expections and it was a well deserved treat for us both! We will be back again to relax and enjoy the top class food and service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank napoleonEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great option for a last minute break, excellently located and lived up to expectations set by website. Child friendly. Only negative that it has a coorporate feel and there are few areas to sit and relax in, other than designated 'break out' areas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The staff are so friendly, helpful and kind. The room was divine, clean, up to minute decor. The hotel is situated in a beautiful spot and boasts being part the of The Goodwood Estate it really is perfect. The Hotel has a spa and sports club attached along with a golf course, there is absolutely stacks of activities to participate in. All under one roof.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were staying here for 2 nights, location was great but I wouldn't call it a 4 star hotel. First of all the wait for a table at breakfast was a joke, second of all wrong charges on our bill and finally spa treatments were changed twice due to staff illnesses according to reception staff. Please please fix all of those and it would be a perfect place to come back and stay at again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chickflick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and for highlighting a number of areas. These issues will be discussed with the team and our processes will be reviewed. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a great hotel in a lovely location, perfect for a relaxing break. We had a very nice room: big comfy bed, quality toiletries,. The staff are very nice. The breakfasts are lovely, good quality ingredients and nicely served. Will definitely return and look forward to exploring more of the area, and completing some walks on the lovely Goodwood estate. The other facilities, including leisure pool are also good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mondsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Expensive, beautiful location, comfy beds but could do with some attention to detail to the rooms.
Did not use pool area as lots of children in there.
Staff helpful and friendly
Kennels restaurant superb!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Francis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
913 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
631 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: £140 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, Waterbeach treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing