We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms & beds!”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous rooms & beds!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Goodwood Hotel is in a beautiful area and brilliantly situated if you fancy a day at the races. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable, the bed & sheets were amazing! I have little to gripe about except the jacuzzi was empty when I went for a swim which was a little disappointing, and dinner service in The Richmond Arms was too slow, meaning we were almost falling asleep at our table by the end of the meal! The food, however, is of very high standard, my chocolate pudding was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for providing feedback directly to the hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate the time that you spent giving us your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    430
    204
    88
    43
See reviews for
228
764
35
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great Hotel good service, clean and tidy plenty to do and see if you wish with a fantastic restaurant this was our second stay and have already booked our third being members of the Goodwood road racing club this hotel is a good stay over for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had stayed at the hotel before (about 10 years ago) and since then it is under new management.

The Receptionist was helpful on arrival but couldn't take us to our room as there was a problem with the safe in the room of another guest and her colleague had disappeared. We found our room (on the ground floor) fairly easily but it was in pitch darkness and the light swith by the door didn't work as all the lamps had been switched off at source!

Once we got over this little problem we found the room spacious and well appointed but the safe was locked shut and couldn't be opened even by the maintenance team.

The Richmond Arms, which sounds like a pub but actually is the main restaurant, was slightly disappointing. The staff seemed to be doing us a favour by serving us although they did become more friendly as the meal wore on. Food was very nice although not spectacular. Breakfast was cooked to order and very good.

We stayed on late and had lunch in the grill which was excellent.

All in all very good but not, on this occasion, outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Set up for the Golfing fraternity this Hotel has everything but of course its also available for the races both horse and motor this certainly is a Hotel that can multi task !! Great staff great food and perfect bedrooms mixed with two great Golf Courses this is well worth a visit if your a golfing group. There were 9 of us and everything went like clockwork tee times organised buggies well prepared with water, scorecards pencils etc everything happened with a smile.
The evenings were equally well organised with a table set up for us and they have three restaurants which we worked our way around. The staff in the dining rooms were exceptional although the breakfast staff could do with a bit of training in table clearing but this apart the food was first class and obviously local produce, Highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The service in this hotel was impeccable. The staff were all friendly, helpful and efficient. There was a general air of calm around the hotel which was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The cocktail bar got quite lively in the evenings and the bartender Ivan was incredible. He offered us to try some special cocktails instead of our usual vodka and coke and talked us trough the whole process of the preparation, the drinks... Just amazing! There are lovely routes for quiet walk in the countryside out and around the property. The food was marvellous, they do deserve the two rosettes, definitely!!! The spa area was good but fairly small and could get crowded quite quickly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonnieLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Already stated within survey report.Apart from Bathroom maintenance which must be put right and the bed.This truly is a lovely Hotel,very much underated,set in a most beautiful part of Sussex Countryside.I strongly suggest you pay a vist because criticisms raised will have all been set right before you arrive.Of that i am certain.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and excellent breakfast BUT if you are going for a Spa be careful versus other 4/5 star offerings this is a huge disappointment. We choose the hotel to relax specifically on the Sunday but hot tub out of order and quality of décor antiquated.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for providing feedback directly to the hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate the time that you have spent giving us your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
828 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
543 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Property: The Goodwood Hotel
Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing