We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate customer care”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ultimate customer care”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked a Flight/Hotel package via the website and enjoyed a luxurious experience. We have stayed here before however it appears that the hotel are investing in quality staff which improves the visitor experience.
Our flight in the Cessna was magical and we travelled for an hour around Sussex/Hampshire at low level enjoying the scenery and fine weather, the pilot took extra care to ensure we had a smooth flight and was informative, experienced and reassuring given that my wife was wary of flying in a small plane. I would recommend this to anyone as a must do in life, we are also booking to fly again in the Warbird WW2 plane which is a wonderful reminder of past history and for me a once in a lifetime opportunity.
Check in and out was efficient and painless and our room was clean with good decor and quality bedding materials, the free chocolate is always welcome and was complimented by the Coffee in the room.
The restaurant is high class with again very attentive service and a high quality menu, we also had an interesting lesson from the Barman on how to enhance the flavour in the glass. This will remain my secret until you visit.
Breakfast is well above average with a good menu and I'm glad to say freshly cooked, unlike most hotels these days with a buffet style and very unappealing.
Goodwood is classed as a 4 star Hotel, we have stayed in many 5 star Hotels that cannot match the quality we experienced here, so many thanks to all of the staff for taking that extra time to treat us as special customers.

Room Tip: Even though our room was above the restaurant, we did not experience any noise or smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxy1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    426
    202
    84
    42
See reviews for
223
753
35
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK, London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night in a double room. It was a last minute decision to stay and so we arrived late. Reception were helpful and guided us to our room. The room was large with a vaulted ceiling, the bed was exceptionally comfortable and we slept really well. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was very good. It was a busy Saturday morning with a large party of (rowdy) golfers in and the staff managed it well. We didnt have time to visit the health spa but it looked great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would book again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

You are greeted by a very courteous reception and once signed in led to your room; a good idea for first time visitors!!
The room was spacious, clean and had a bed that welcomed you in with a warm wrap in lots soft bedding, Sleep was esy to come by.

The whole experience was a pleasure

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Magnificent hotel and staff were all excellent nothing was to much trouble . We were there Friday afternoon for my sons wedding Saturday . A truly memorable wedding thank you all very much please take this as our personal thank its a weekend that won't be forgotten

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie6619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Wow, the Richmond Arms lays on a superb dinner, an excellent breakfast, and the staff are attentive, friendly and provide terrific service. An outstanding find.

Requiring a review to be at least 200 characters is a nonsense though.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked last minute for a stay over Bank Holiday Sunday. The hotel seemed quiet so we were surprised that arriving at 3.45pm we had to wait for our room to be ready! However the very helpful receptionist arranged for tea and cakes on the patio which was very welcome while we waited,
The room was newly refurbished and had everything we needed. Plenty of tea & coffee plus some yummy chocolate! The bathroom was immaculate and there was a nice selection of toiletries.
We had dinner in the Bar and Grill. My husband claimed the burger was one of the best he'd ever had! Very high praise! All the food was delicious and the waiting staff were very helpful and friendly.
Plenty of choice for breakfast. The mini croissants were lovely and the cooked breakfast was cooked perfectly.
Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel to others. The only criticism was that it was a bit noisy at night with people slamming doors. It seems the doors cannot be closed quietly!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleflo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Goodwood Hotel is in a beautiful area and brilliantly situated if you fancy a day at the races. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable, the bed & sheets were amazing! I have little to gripe about except the jacuzzi was empty when I went for a swim which was a little disappointing, and dinner service in The Richmond Arms was too slow, meaning we were almost falling asleep at our table by the end of the meal! The food, however, is of very high standard, my chocolate pudding was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for providing feedback directly to the hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate the time that you spent giving us your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Property: The Goodwood Hotel
Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing