We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful country hotel”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was interested in staying in the Chichester/Goodwood area. From being walked to our room by the check in receptionist, beautiful well equipped bedroom, lovely Molton Brown bath products, an excellent meal in the a la carte hotel restaurant, relaxing spa facilities, fantastic hot & cold buffet and finally to the friendly check out staff telling us about the other fab things the Goodwood estate had to offer! We thoroughly enjoyed our night in this gorgeous hotel.

Beware of the super hot towel rails, just cover them up when you first get into the bathroom to remind yourself not to lean/brush up against them.

Other than that go and enjoy your next hotel experience here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here one evening after a wedding at Goodwood House.

Whilst the bed was comfortable, the room amenities were functional and clean but not anything exceptional.

What should be noted were the paper thin walls that allowed any noise from the hallway to be heard in the room which didn't allow us to get a good nights sleep.

A pricey stay for what it was.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed during the night and welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please do contact me when convenient on 01243 775537. I look forward to hearing from you.

Jane Goodyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is lovely for a short break, even when there are no special events. We enjoyed the pool and spa facilities before heading for the bar, and supper. The atmosphere in the bar was somewhat gloomy, but the quality of the restaurant more than compensated. The food was superb and our waitress was both knowledgable and helpful, as well as very efficient and friendly. Breakfast was of the same high standard, with all requests dealt with most efficiently. The following day we went all round the Goodwood Estate. Lunch at The Kennels was also of a high standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Went for lunch with a couple of friends, nice menu, good prices, lovely setting. Very average burgers with zero flavour but other meals were good. Service is atrocious, seriously undertrained disorganised and not very well managed restaurant. It puts a dampner on the lunch when we are left waiting for so long for any service and having to ask repeatedly for the same thing.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MistyW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank for you for recent feedback on your lunch in the Bar & Grill. I am extremely concerned to read your comments about the level of service and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please can I ask that you contact me directly, whenever is convenient to yourself, on 01243 775537. I look forward to speaking with you.

Jane Goodyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good welcome, clean room, used Swim pool in the early morning, rather full on arrival in afternoon . Very nice meal in main restaurant for Dinner & Breakfast.
Only down side no really nice lounge for residents..many small areas but not specific and near conference rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great for golfers and families but don't come here if you fancy a luxury romantic break. It won't feel exclusive enough for the money. I also found the golfing clientele a bit posy! We couldn't get into the restaurant so ate in the bar, which wasn't great as the men were cheering the football and getting the beers in. Which is fine if that's what we knew to expect but the website makes this hotel look like a quiet luxury spa retreat rather than a golfing heaven. The pool and spa area was nice, although they are still doing building work so parts of it were a bit unfinished. I like the sauna a steam, but they were a bit small!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were staying at Goodwood whist attending a function in Chichester. The hotel is well situated with a good health club and golf course. We have used these facilities previously but not on this trip.
Our room was small but comfortable and clean. The beds have us a good nights sleep! We had a few hiccups which we wouldn't expect from this hotel. Our room wasn't ready on arrival and we had to wait in reception while it was checked. Breakfast taken in the health club(because no room left in the restaurant ) was good. Unfortunately the room service menu doesn't cater for wheat intolerance .



  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sallie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you very much for providing feedback directly to the hotel on your recent visit.

We appreciate the time that you spent giving us your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
680 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: £136 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, Waterbeach treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing