We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in Goodwood”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very enjoyable, good hotel and spa, very comfortable and excellent, courteous staff, lovely area, so much to do and see. Play at Chichester Theatre was excellent, a number of good places to eat, especially the Kennels. Good access to walk, towns and seaside. The beach at Wittering is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here last night as we were going to the races, we had a snack before we went which was lovely and reasonable priced, staff were friendly and polite our room was nice and clean and breakfast was good this morning to and again the staff were good. Great for going racing that's only up the road. Only bad thing was the heating was on everywhere and it was hot enough without it

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My family took me to the Goodwood Hotel for dinner on my birthday and surprised my by telling me we were staying overnight. The room was spacious, well equipped with toiletries, spotlessly clean and very bright with a wonderful view of the gardens and dove cote. Breakfast was served in the Restaurant and provided a good choice of continental and cooked food. I chose the cooked breakfast which was well presented and very tasty. The staff were very attentive with regular refills of tea and coffee. I would recommend this hotel to anyone requiring a value for money stay in beautiful surroundings. After breakfast we went for a walk towards Goodwood House with views over the cricket pitch and watched the sheep grazing with glimpses of the bluebells among the trees. Certainly a birthday to remember

Room Tip: Visit the spa and gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for one night in the older part of the hotel. We had a 'character room' with a four poster bed in it. Check in was really friendly, helpful and swift. We were shown to our room which was a cool oasis on a hot day. The room looked great with almost every need provided for. There were Molton Brown toiletries, sparkling and still water with two big tumblers, the usual coffee and tea facilities and all very stylishly presented. We hit two problems though when my husband needed to reattach a button on his trousers and I had a broken nail and there were no amenity kits in the room. This wasn't such an issue as we were there for social reasons but would have been very inconvenient if we had an urgent business meeting to get to.
The four poster bed looked luscious but was very soft and I would agree with a previous poster about the 'marshmallow' pillows. Sadly this meant I had an uncomfortable night. Breakfast was excellent with a high quality buffet and hot food to order.
All in all we were very impressed with The Goodwood Hotel. They were clearly very busy at the weekend however this did not affect the service which was excellent and very high quality. The room was almost as comfortable and well appointed as many five star hotels we have stayed in.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxuryhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I returned to the hotel for an overnight stay for business and would recommend the hotel for people looking for a high quality stay whether it is for business, personalluy or as a family. The hotel is well located depending on what you needs are.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Recent stay in May on a business trip. Great welcome and well furnished and well decorated room. I ate in the bar at night and the food was good and the staff were very attentive. Slept very well in a comfy bed, set off the following day after a top quality waiter served breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dabren1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

wish i had done more homework on what the hotel had to offer as this would have made our stay more relaxing,i.e didnt know about spa so didnt bring swimming gear but on whole enjoyed the stay at hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
675 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: £137 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, Waterbeach treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing