We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, poor food”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Newhaven
1 review
“Nice hotel, poor food”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A nice ordinary hotel serving one of the worst vegetarian breakfasts I have tasted. Rom very pleasant and staff friendly but overall on the expensive side for what you get. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay and please accept my apologies for the standard of food that you received. Please can I ask that you contact my assistant Tammy Vallins on 01243 775537 at your convenience so that she can discuss this matter with you further.

Kind regards,
Jane Goodyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    426
    202
    83
    42
See reviews for
223
752
35
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the standard of this four star hotel. The receptionist was friendly and competent. Our room was clean and very comfortable, even down pillows – I usually have to bring my own, I do not like synthetic pillows. The bathroom had a wide range of toiletries and other essentials (cotton wool, shower cap etc). We found a robes and slippers in the wardrobe. We were there primarily for the races, but as part of a two night stay we had some very good activities arranged for us, such as flying lessons, golf etc we also had treatments at the Spa which were very relaxing. We also had a very good meal at Goodwood House, which included a tour of the House from a very well informed guide. We also had an excellent Sunday lunch at the Kennels. I would make a return visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a lot of gravel in the car park which can make wearing open toed shoes uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Front desk staff focus on processes more than trying to accommodate reasonable requests to ensure good customer experiences. Denying even before listening is not the way to go. Disappointing. I have stayed 40 times in the past years, but will look for alternatives now.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Milan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and I do hope that Emma has now resolved the issues that you mentioned to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to Goodwood in the very near future.

Jane Goodyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porstmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We always use goodwood to get away for a night or two , the hotel is glorious and location stunning . This time sadly we didn't have a very comfortable bed but it won't deter us from visiting . If you can I recommend either upgrading or asking for extra pillows .
It is however a lovely hotel . Staff are attentive and surroundings outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very enjoyable, good hotel and spa, very comfortable and excellent, courteous staff, lovely area, so much to do and see. Play at Chichester Theatre was excellent, a number of good places to eat, especially the Kennels. Good access to walk, towns and seaside. The beach at Wittering is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night as we were going to the races, we had a snack before we went which was lovely and reasonable priced, staff were friendly and polite our room was nice and clean and breakfast was good this morning to and again the staff were good. Great for going racing that's only up the road. Only bad thing was the heating was on everywhere and it was hot enough without it

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My family took me to the Goodwood Hotel for dinner on my birthday and surprised my by telling me we were staying overnight. The room was spacious, well equipped with toiletries, spotlessly clean and very bright with a wonderful view of the gardens and dove cote. Breakfast was served in the Restaurant and provided a good choice of continental and cooked food. I chose the cooked breakfast which was well presented and very tasty. The staff were very attentive with regular refills of tea and coffee. I would recommend this hotel to anyone requiring a value for money stay in beautiful surroundings. After breakfast we went for a walk towards Goodwood House with views over the cricket pitch and watched the sheep grazing with glimpses of the bluebells among the trees. Certainly a birthday to remember

Room Tip: Visit the spa and gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Property: The Goodwood Hotel
Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing