We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I am a regular visitor to this hotel and always find the service exceptional: the staff and hotel itself are warm and welcoming, the facilities superb. They go above an beyond to ensure your stay is enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

995 - 1,001 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for a work event and the hotel is lovely. The staff were all very nice, the lunch was good and the rooms are really large. The gardens with all the lavender are beautiful. I'd happily come back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Not sure why this hotel is not 5* ! Excellently located on Goodwood site . . .5 minutes walk from rear of hotel and we were at entrance to Festival of Speed!
Slightly disappointed with choice and quality of food in Bar on Sunday night, but more than made up for by SUPERB breakfast in Richmond Restaurant on Monday morning. Excellent leisure facilities. Professional and helpful staff in all areas. Would definitely stay again, maybe when rooms are 'normal' price and not premium rate due to Festival of Speed (+£300.00 per room per night).
Thank you to the Goodwood Hotel Team,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

All I can say is other hotel management In UK need to visit this place to learn,we had a fantastic time only disappointment we had was having to leave well done Goodwood as I'm not that easy to please.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed again for just one night at the end of FOS
Again it was fantastic
The room was lovely - I had a slight problem with the bath/shower - but the was sorted within minutes
All the staff are great and well motivated - nothing is too much trouble
Supper in the restaurant was 5* as was the service
Breakfast - again - great - very relaxing and great service.
This is one of my favourite hotels - I'm glad we live close by!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Although only a 2 day/ 1 night stay, I couldn't have been more impressed with the hotel, its facilities but more than anything the professionalism, quality and friendliness of the staff. The golf course ( Downs ) was excellent despite a delayed tee time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went as a group booking for a golf weekend.
The hotel was very good in all areas including service, food, and rooms.
The only disappointing thing over the weekend was the marshall on the golf course of the hotel golf course .When we arrived we were told in an abrupt manor that slow play was not allowed and it would not be tolerated by the course.
This lead to all of us feeling like it was now speed golf and when we were told we were behind time we could not go any faster due to having to wait for the groups in front.
There was even an occasion when the marshall shouted out for anyone wanting drinks just as one of us was about to hit the ball causing him to mishit his shot into the heavy rough. We were then told by the marshall we did not have time to look for the ball as we were behind time.
After telling him it would not have happened if he timed his shouting out for drinks he then sped of in his buggy. Even though we were then left alone for the rest of the round it still left a bad taste.
The next day on the downs course I mentioned the incident in the pro shop and we had a much more enjoyable day.
Unfortunately due to the incident with the marshall it is very unlikely we will be visiting this hotel and course again which is a big pity as everything else was very good value and the staff at the hotel were friendly with excellent food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrfarandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager, Golf at Goodwood at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback regards your golf break here at Goodwood. As you may well be aware ‘speed of play’ is a significant issue within golf at present. We at Golf At Goodwood are trying very hard to encourage our Members and our Guests to be aware of their ‘speed of play’ in order to maintain the maximum enjoyment for all that play golf here. Clearly on this occasion we have overstepped the mark as to how we manage this and for this I apologise. I can assure you the vast majority of feedback we get is positive about our service levels and our staff and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Please can I ask you to contact me on 01243 755171 at your convenience.

Stuart Gillett
General Manager
Golf at Goodwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
916 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
633 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: £141 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, Waterbeach treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing