We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms a little small”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Room was small and a bit disappointing bit the rest of the hotel and service was great.
Pool a little tired. Staff lovely. Breakfast was exceptional but really busy with wedding guests and golf parties.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

981 - 987 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great hotel and golf courses, food portions could be a little larger though.. Golf trip for 12 hungry guys
Trip advisor insisting reviews are at least 200 characters is a drag as padding is often unnecessary


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trevor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent all round experience!! Thank you... I have already recommended the venue to all my friends. Golf courses were superb, what made it better was the weather! Looking forward already to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I can't rate this hotel highly enough. It was a lovely oasis of calm and tranquility.

The staff were attentive friendly and very professional. The rooms were very nice and since we were in a heat wave the air conditioning was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The park course was nice - the first 6 holes on the Downs course is absolutely stunning and the rest of it is really good. The hotel was fine but the room was a bit small, although it contained all you needed. The pool was warm and changing facilities good. The breakfast was excellent. However the evening meal we had in the bar and grill was disappointing. The portions were small and very overpriced. The cheapest bottle of wine (the equivalent of a £5 bottle from Tesco) cost £23 and the service was only just about adequate. We had our small dog with us and the £25 per night charge was extortionate - he didn't even get breakfast!! We still had a good time but felt the place was too big and impersonal. It will surely suit some who have plenty of money to chuck away but the cost of the wine etc spoilt it for us

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwoodHotelManager, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, this is incredibly important to us to ensure that we continue to provide the best service to our guests.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues that you have raised and would ask that you contact me on 01243 775537 or email me, saskia.droz@goodwood.com with your contact number so that we can arrange a convenient time to talk.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Saskia V. Droz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Shame that the spa is so much of a health club and not really luxurious for guests paying £200 + per night. Would expect alot more for that price. The food was truly excellent though.
Place felt much to much like a "venue" for a couples anniversary - not romantic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Last week we were invited to attend a travel/cruise seminar. The hotel, primarily for guests who wish to attend functions at Goodwood House is very attractive.
The reception area is large, cool, and very quiet. The cloakrooms are easy to find, and pristine.
We were shown through to a medium size square room, where coffee and pastries are served.
The room booked was a continuation. Circular tables set with bottles of water, note pads and pencils. The surprising element was a rather tacky wallpaper, imitating rows of books!! Not the finest quality by any means. Overall, an excellent venue for small to medium conferences.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candlcoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
917 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
633 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: £141 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, Waterbeach treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing