We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice is all I can say”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed overnight for a wedding. Staff were friendly. Rooms seemed quite small. It is not the typical hotel I would choose - it lacked character and was a bit soulless with narrow hallways and unmemorable rooms (we stayed in a garden room). I gave it 4 stars mainly because the staff are nice and friendly and the rooms are clean but I probably wouldn't go back - the owner needs to inject some character into the building and rooms ...some art work and a total refurbishment of the hallways to start with? Similarly, the Richmond Arms feels emptied of character. I did not use the spa but for me, the hotel rooms and common areas did not connotate any pampering or indulgent experience but if you are going to sell yourself as a spa hotel, you need to offer the whole package.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Howdizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stayed here on two occasions and both times we have been very happy.
The rooms are on the small side and if I was to be fussy quite dark (no ceiling lights, so lots of mood lighting to the sides). The rooms have a interesting selection of books to read and are clean and modern. Breakfast was delicious, service excellent. The staff on both occasions were very attentive, friendly and efficient - no complaints whatsoever.
I would say that the pool was a little disappointing as half was fenced off for teaching young children, so the space was somewhat limited during busy periods. We also dined in the Bar & Grill. The service in here was not so good, it was slow and fustrating trying to get the attention of staff when it was empty apart from a couple of tables during lunch time. The food was only so so for the price. Apart from the bar experience, I wouldn't hesitate on recommending a stay at the hotel. The hotel itself is very clean and modern and is in a good location for day trips around sussex and not to mention all that the estate has to offer.

Room Tip: Only two floors, so if you need wheelchair/pushchair access go for ground floor as there are no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EquityKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A brilliant experience, my husband drove 3 different Ferraris at Goodwood, brilliant! We then stayed at the Goodwood hotel, lovely, great venue, great weather, great service, food and drinks!
The hotel had excellent leisure facilities, we didn't use them, though we did enjoy sitting on the patio under the shade of an umbrella enjoying a refreshing drink whilst discussing the Ferrari experience

Room Tip: They all looked great, our room was perfect and the bathrooms have Molton Brown!! Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Room was small and a bit disappointing bit the rest of the hotel and service was great.
Pool a little tired. Staff lovely. Breakfast was exceptional but really busy with wedding guests and golf parties.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great hotel and golf courses, food portions could be a little larger though.. Golf trip for 12 hungry guys
Trip advisor insisting reviews are at least 200 characters is a drag as padding is often unnecessary


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trevor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent all round experience!! Thank you... I have already recommended the venue to all my friends. Golf courses were superb, what made it better was the weather! Looking forward already to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I can't rate this hotel highly enough. It was a lovely oasis of calm and tranquility.

The staff were attentive friendly and very professional. The rooms were very nice and since we were in a heat wave the air conditioning was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
698 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: £118 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, Waterbeach treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing