We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“excellent hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent hotel. Very attentive staff. . couldn't help enough. Rooms so comfortable and clean. Pool and other fitness facilities of a high standard. Will definitely visit here again. Great for a mini break. Location beautiful and easy to find.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    417
    197
    80
    41
See reviews for
216
735
35
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you are looking for a romantic break this is not the hotel for you. It is a family, business and golfers hotel! Children were out of control at the SPA area, diving, bombing and shouting. We experienced the same in the restaurant, noisy. We wanted a romantic break but the room was for people with disabilities, no bath etc and relaxing at the SPA was not possible. Room are over priced but the quality of the food was exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HenrydT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at Goodwood the night before and on the night of my wedding. By and large a lovely hotel but we did have a few issues.

Stayed in a Signature Twin room the night before the wedding with a friend. It was nice - clean, well decked out with all amenities you would expect (toiletries, towels, iron, TV etc) as well as being comfortable.

After that myself and my wife stayed in a character room and it was lovely - big, nice decoration with a four poster bed (only one of the character rooms has a four poster so be sure to request it) and a lovely big bathroom. I did request champagne in the room in advance and, when we returned home, it wasn't there however room service quickly brought some up.

The food in the Bar & Grill was nice and the breakfast in the Richmond Arms had a great variety. Also ordered breakfast in bed for after the wedding night but rather annoyingly we were brought the standard full English despite specifying vegetarian. After calling room service the hotel were quick to amend this.

In terms of issues a number of the people in our party (staying in other rooms) had problems with air conditioning. They did receive a discount but having visited these rooms it was pretty unbearable. Also the hotel is a bit of a labyrinth - its very easy to get lost as the corridors seem to meander endlessly and take strange turn offs. The estate is also a bit out of the way and could be signposted better although I understand that said signs might interfere with the beautiful countryside that surrounds it

Overall though its a lovely hotel, a bit expensive for what you get but perfectly pleasant and the staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster character room as only one of the three character rooms have a four poster b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikecoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Was attending a wedding at local Upwaltham barns and the Goodwood Hotel was on its list of suggested places to stay. We only stayed one night and did not have the chance to dine or use other facilities available. Reception staff friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

First night we were kept awake because the walls are paper thin and there were people next door who were up late and woke early. Seems to be no soundproofing at all. We wanted to order room service for breakfast but there was no clues on how to do so which meant I had to call the hotel from my mobile to get the internal number for room service.
Breakfast arrived without milk for my coffee or the promised toast but they were fairly quick to bring it when we called down to remind them.
During that day they called to tell us that we had left things in our room, they only had us down for 1 night despite me booking for 2; fortunately for them they were able to sort it out pretty quickly. Most hotels confirm your stay at check in, it would have saved them some embarrassment.
We wished we hadn't stayed a second night though as the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. No explanation or apology was given in the morning.
Oh and the bathroom stank of bleach. Was reassuring to know it was clean but didn't smell nice.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonPainter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This part of Sussex is gorgeous, with a must-see Cass Sculpture Foundation ten minutes walk from the hotel.

Lovely and clean hotel - except (my one complaint) they did not change the sheets, despite a messy squashed strawberries stain on the bed cover - the bed was just turned down to cover it).

Wonderful breakfasts and generally fab service. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

very good hotel a bit pricey in the bar £13.60 for a pint of beer and a small vodka and tonic !!!!! very clean rooms and helpful staff food excellent and presented well breakfast very nice great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Property: The Goodwood Hotel
Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing