We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, tired rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chichester Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Thankfully we only stayed one night here while attending a swimming event at the nearby water sports centre. We had a family room with one double and one single bed on the ground floor at the back of the hotel, overlooking the car park to the Harvester restaurant next door. The weather was scorching but no air con in the room and no facility to 'lock' the window open for ventilation. We had no choice but to sleep with the window open and hope we didn't get murdered in our beds!

The hotel were clearly cultivating the decorations for Halloween as there were thick cobwebs in every corner of the room, hanging from the frame of the bathroom door and between the beds and bedside tables, together with thick dust on the carpet in those 'hard to reach' areas!

More worrying, was the fire door along the miles of corridor from reception to our room, which was wedged open with a wooden wedge day and night in spite of the clear signs saying 'fire door, to be kept shut' which was clearly in breach of fire safety regulations.

In light of the poor standard of cleanliness in the room we didn't eat here but ate out for dinner and checked out before breakfast.

Very disappointing hotel for the price and definitely won't be going back. My advice - stay at the Travelodge or Premier Inn instead!

Room Tip: If the weather is warm make sure you have a room on the first floor so that you can at least get som...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
There are newer reviews for Chichester Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Zero rating would be more appropriate as this hotel falls well below basic expectations of the paying customer. Whilst located in an ideal location, the hotel falls short. We stayed one night and were located in a noisy room overlooking a busy main road. We asked to be moved and were then placed in smokers room, yet the hotel states no smoking is permitted. The duvet and the pillow cases smelt like an ashtray and the only way the room could be aired as there were no air con facilities, was by opening the large gigantic windows wide open. These suicidal windows were inappropriate for the room and would not be health and safety compliant, a small child or clumsy person could innocently end up splattered outside as the window had a mind of its own and would just swing back and fourth with no mercy. The room was dirty with flies squashed on the walls or maybe they too had suffered smoking suffocation in the room. We will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Booked three rooms for a family funeral. Staff were pleasant. Hotel had some good amenities, such as pool and garden for refreshments.
Shortcomings. One of our rooms was not changed, which is not acceptable. Breakfast was extra, expensive, no continental option, indifferent quality. No complementary Internet access and expensive. Hired a room and light refreshments for after the funeral. The refreshments were appalling and the bill was outrageous.
A convenient location and some good facilities but disappointing overall. Would not come again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I only stayed here for one night, but it's fairly safe to say that I won't be going back. Suffice to say that this is as close to a regular, uninteresting, "flat pack" hotel as you'll find anywhere... the prices are probably above what I'd deem acceptable for the middling service, and the restaurant is painfully average. Bizarrely I was seated in the far corner of said (massive) restaurant, about 50 yards away from my nearest fellow diners. They all appeared to be crammed in like sardines near the entrance; I'm not sure whether it was deliberate, but it certainly had me wracking my brains for the duration of the meal (mostly: "why?")

The main warning I'd like to impart impart about this place is that you'll find it difficult to escape the oppressive stench of chlorine from pretty much the moment you walk through the front door, to the time you crawl gasping and spluttering into your room. I'm not sure what they're thinking, but it's not generally the done thing to gas your paying guests with "extract of swimming pool" on the way to their beds. Probably about time for a rethink on that front, but even that aside I'd say probably best avoid given that there are better alternatives very close by.

Room Tip: As far away from the swimming pool as possible...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilesFromFrasier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Clean and comfortable this is a large hotel with two levels but no elevators. The hotel is convenient to Chichester Cathedral. Parking is good except when there are weddings, usually on a Saturday. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rates vary by the day so it is wise to check each daily rates. Overall this was a good stay and I would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

About 60 of us dropped in on this modern "flatpack-style" hotel for a "breakaway weekend". We were not disappointed. Awaiting us was a heaping helping of good old Sussex hospitality.
But, before I begin on a list of praiseworthy items, I must pick a bone with this - and several other - hotel managements.
When people arrive at an hotel after a journey, they make for the bar, eager for that first, so-welcome drink. And, many a time, they find that bar bare of staff. What a first impression! There is nothing worse than having repeatedly to call out to try to summon somebody from the depths of the kitchen.
Why do managements pare costs but ruin first impressions by having only one person at lunchtimes to both man the bar, set tables in the nearby restaurant and serve the food?
That said, I have nothing but praise for this hotel. The accommodation is clean and spacious, the staff polite and friendly and the food, although in this instance the kitchen at one time was having to cope with both our group and a wedding party - produced food that was prompt, well cooked and presented, and moderately priced. The wine, too, was good, without costing an arm and a leg.
People in the party who used the pool, steam-room, jacuzzi and sauna pronounced themselves happy with those facilities.
This hotel is within easy reach of Chichester, a most pleasant and interesting town. If our time hadn't been limited, I'm sure we would have enjoyed touring the surrounding towns and countryside..
All in all, this was a relaxing place in which to take a break.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tovarisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I came to the Chichester Park Hotel with family for one night while staying in Chichester. We didn't use the restaurant while there but went to the Harvister which is just round the corner from the hotel. We went to the bar place to watch the football and was a very nice place to be. The rooms were a standard size (we had double rooms) and the bathroom was lovely. The hotel has a spa area which guests and members are free to use unlimited which contained a small gym area, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room which my brother and I used. The rooms were very clean and the staff were lovely. We asked for one of the rooms to have a later check out and the staff were very good to sort that out for us. Yes I would recommend going here. The town center is roughly a 10 minute drive and they have so many shops there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGlazer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
4.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
901 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
205 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chichester Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chichester Park Hotel

Address: Madgwick Lane, Chichester PO19 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: £69 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chichester Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, two story hotel with restaurant; located 1 mile from town; ideal base for exploring West Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Chichester Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chichester Park Hotel West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing