We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crouchers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crouchers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a lovely room with a four poster bed and small terrace outside. The room was adequate, very clean with a good sized bathroom and the bed extremely comfortable. However, for £130 per night I would expect to be provided with more than a small bottle of water to share and the cleanliness did not extend to the terrace which was full of cobwebs and the chairs were slightly dilapidated. The one thing that did stand out was the breakfast which was probably the best hotel breakfast I've ever eaten and definitely required after a great night out.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster rooms as they all have a terrace and lovely view over the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    255
    66
    26
    10
See reviews for
122
388
50
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Earl Soham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Similar to the guest who earlier this month thought that what with first impressions and having read some of the reviews we were also expecting a pleasant stay at this hotel. On our first evening, we found that there was not any fish on the menu and that there were only two burgers left - we were a large party and some had driven a very long way. When the meals did eventually arrive, one was missing. When it came, it was not properly cooked. The overall breakfast was not good but we will say that the cooked was pretty fine. The room was OK but pretty shabby and needing some updating plus a need for the occupants to be quite spritely to get around! Sadly, the manageress was extremely rude to our host on the last day quite unnecessarily. We stay at a lot of hotels as our business takes us around the country. This is one that I would not visit again which is a pity as it seems that many others have been impressed by their experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pooksters121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Adequate room. Functional, but with little in the way of style. A little bland and dated.
Maybe there are better rooms.

The selling point of Croucher's, however, is the restaurant. The food is excellent. Delicious sea bass!
Friendly, helpful, restaurant staff also
Croucher's is a place to eat! As a restaurant, I'd rate it 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is ideally placed for visiting Chichester,Bosham and the Witterings with lots of room in the car park. There is plenty of space in the lounges as well as in the garden area. All the staff were very pleasant polite and helpful.

Unfortunately the evening meal in the restaurant did not change for the three nights that we stayed, however, the quality of the food was very good and the restaurant manager was very accommodating since our friends had a limited diet. I must also say that the restaurant and bar staff were excellent, especially Charlotte.
The cooked part of the breakfast was served at the table, however, the selection of bread and fruit was limited.
The bedroom was quite small with not much room to move around or to sit down, and the wardrobe did not have much room to hang up our clothes. The bathroom was a good size with modern fittings, also the towels were very large and good quality as was the accessories.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently got married at Crouchers and had the best weekend ever! From the point of booking, the build up, the actual day and afterwards the level of support/service has been outstanding. The staff are exceptional and all worked very hard to accommodate us, particularly Julia (Manager), Carlo, the waitresses and kitchen staff. The venue itself is lovely, very clean, modern and in an excellent setting, all of which make it perfect for a wedding! One of the best features about the venue is the consistency of high quality food, all of our guests really were very impressed by this. We will certainly be returning to Crouchers soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0useHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We went to crouchers for a friends wedding and it was a lovely weekend. The staff were brilliant, massively helpful and so friendly. The food for the wedding breakfast and the actual breakfast was really enjoyable and of good quality. The location is ideal for visiting Chichester or the Wittering. The only down side is its not cheap but you pay for quality. The bed room was nice, not massive compared to the large bathroom. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhatKat1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel was very good, however the highlight of the stay was the evening meal in the restaurant. The service was excellent and all the staff were highly trained and very attentive. The food was accompanied by an extensive wine list and there seemed to be a lot of locals as well visiting the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
12.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crouchers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouchers Hotel

Property: Crouchers Hotel
Address: Birdham Road, Chichester PO20 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crouchers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crouchers Hotel is an early 1900's farmhouse which has been converted to house 26 bedrooms in the outside coach house,barn and stables . The main house contains our oaked beamed restaurant , relaxing bar area and lounge. Our staff are always on hand to ensure you are well looked after . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Crouchers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crouchers Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Crouchers Country
Crouchers Country West Sussex
Crouchers Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing