We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made very welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crouchers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crouchers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Made very welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I popped in for a drink, we were surprised by the modern yet warm feel to the bar area, we asked to see the menus for both bar and restaurant, we were offered seats in both but stayed with the bar, a table was laid for us while we sat at the bar and enjoyed a glass of wine.

Our meals arrived, they were first class, with chips to rest a house on......

Service warm and friendly, lighting and decor made us feel comfortable, prices kind on the pocket.


We will be back..

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    249
    65
    25
    10
See reviews for
122
381
49
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel every week for three nights since early 2013. The hotel is very well situated, just a few minutes drive from Chichester. The rooms, bar area and dining area's are all extremely well presented and maintained. The food is of a very high quality.

What makes this hotel special is the staff. All are only too willing to help with any problem or request, and are very pleasant and knowledgeable about the local area.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. If you are looking for a short stay break in the Chichester area, or you are visiting on business, you will not go wrong if you choose to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickB7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bornheim, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with an outstanding restaurant. Room I stayed in small but very adequate, clean and comfortable but the restaurant was excellent. Food first rate, service very good. Drinking water in glass jugs not out of overpriced plastic bottles !!! No plastic packaging in evidence in restaurant and very little in rooms, only milk packaging for tea / coffee and "glasses" in bathroom out of plastic (suggestion to management ; change to real glass).
Just a tip (excuse pun) if you want to pay a tip to waiting staff, pay cash. If put on bill only paid out "sometime" in future !!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a lovely room with a four poster bed and small terrace outside. The room was adequate, very clean with a good sized bathroom and the bed extremely comfortable. However, for £130 per night I would expect to be provided with more than a small bottle of water to share and the cleanliness did not extend to the terrace which was full of cobwebs and the chairs were slightly dilapidated. The one thing that did stand out was the breakfast which was probably the best hotel breakfast I've ever eaten and definitely required after a great night out.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster rooms as they all have a terrace and lovely view over the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earl Soham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Similar to the guest who earlier this month thought that what with first impressions and having read some of the reviews we were also expecting a pleasant stay at this hotel. On our first evening, we found that there was not any fish on the menu and that there were only two burgers left - we were a large party and some had driven a very long way. When the meals did eventually arrive, one was missing. When it came, it was not properly cooked. The overall breakfast was not good but we will say that the cooked was pretty fine. The room was OK but pretty shabby and needing some updating plus a need for the occupants to be quite spritely to get around! Sadly, the manageress was extremely rude to our host on the last day quite unnecessarily. We stay at a lot of hotels as our business takes us around the country. This is one that I would not visit again which is a pity as it seems that many others have been impressed by their experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pooksters121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Adequate room. Functional, but with little in the way of style. A little bland and dated.
Maybe there are better rooms.

The selling point of Croucher's, however, is the restaurant. The food is excellent. Delicious sea bass!
Friendly, helpful, restaurant staff also
Croucher's is a place to eat! As a restaurant, I'd rate it 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is ideally placed for visiting Chichester,Bosham and the Witterings with lots of room in the car park. There is plenty of space in the lounges as well as in the garden area. All the staff were very pleasant polite and helpful.

Unfortunately the evening meal in the restaurant did not change for the three nights that we stayed, however, the quality of the food was very good and the restaurant manager was very accommodating since our friends had a limited diet. I must also say that the restaurant and bar staff were excellent, especially Charlotte.
The cooked part of the breakfast was served at the table, however, the selection of bread and fruit was limited.
The bedroom was quite small with not much room to move around or to sit down, and the wardrobe did not have much room to hang up our clothes. The bathroom was a good size with modern fittings, also the towels were very large and good quality as was the accessories.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
10.4 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crouchers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouchers Hotel

Property: Crouchers Hotel
Address: Birdham Road, Chichester PO20 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crouchers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crouchers Hotel is an early 1900's farmhouse which has been converted to house 26 bedrooms in the outside coach house,barn and stables . The main house contains our oaked beamed restaurant , relaxing bar area and lounge. Our staff are always on hand to ensure you are well looked after . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crouchers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crouchers Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Crouchers Country
Crouchers Country West Sussex
Crouchers Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing