We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Stay Again!”
Review of Crouchers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crouchers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were visiting Chichester after many years away and needed somewhere to stay for the night. So where do you stay? Ask Trip Advisor, of course!

Crouchers Hotel comes highly rated, and not without reason. The rooms are tastefully decorated and have a lovely outlook onto their own private patios. We opted to eat out in Chichester, but I wish we had stayed now and eaten in - the restaurant here looks lovely.

The staff here are great too. We arrived back at gone 11pm, but the lady behind the bar was more than happy to serve us a couple of night caps and chat until we retired to our room.

the only downside of this hotel is the location. You'll not be walking into Chichester!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed one night while visiting relatives and had dinner, lunch and breakfast in the hotel.

The rooms are in a couple of courtyards outside the main building and are nicely laid out. Ours, like most, had a small private patio with table and chairs, which would have been very nice in summer. The room was well appointed, reasonably spacious and the bed comfortable. The restaurant is a modern extension to the original building, constructed in a wood frame structure which fits in well with the original style. The main building has been opened out to a pleasant reception and bar area.

The hotel was full when we stayed and the restaurant was very busy, but both the service and the kitchen were well able to cope. The food was excellent and the service both very prompt and very friendly. The menu is not extensive (which is often an indicator that everything is freshly made) but well cooked, flavoursome and nicely presented.

I could make the odd quibble (e.g. the coffee at breakfast was poor), but that would really be nit-picking. They did a very good job for the 36 hours we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wine_searcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We recently enjoyed a lovely lunch at Crouchers and would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone who looking to enjoy quality food in a beautiful West Sussex setting.

Upon arrival we felt very welcome in the venue, all the staff greeted us and we were quickly showed us to our table. The service was an appropriate speed and it was fantastic that the menu catered very well for both my wife (a fussy vegetarian) and I. The food was very enjoyable and it was clear that good quality ingredients been used and the dishes had been well thought out (With a very fair price tag). The mushroom tortellini had a lovely blend of flavors and the modern take on a classic cheese cake was a hit!

Thanks to the lovely staff at Crouchers, we will certainly recommend and be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0useHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Modern, friendly hotel with excellent rooms and all comfort
Excellent breakfast
Close to Chichester and its harbour ( and Southampton and Portsmouth) as well as Goodwood and the Solent ( Witterings, Selsey,...).
Rural setting but with good road connections by road to all of the above

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malta48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here in August 2013 as we were down from Hertfordshire to attend a friends wedding, so decided to make a weekend of it.. We stayed again February 14th just gone, for the weekend to collect my wedding dress. Good service, good food, fantastic room and very clean. My only Criticism would be the breakfasts. My partner ordered scrambled egg and salmon, I ordered full English, we were told that they had run out of salmon, so partner cancelled his order. I did persuade him to have pama ham and poached eggs. To which they replied, they had lost the original check. After waiting 20 minutes for our order, it finally turned up with Ham on it!! as they had run out of pama ham. My partner sent this back, to say the least he was very disappointed.
Overall though, a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 96sharoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have been staying at Crouchers for about a year now every week through work. I find the hotel to be an excellent hotel, the food is amazing and the staff treat you with respect at all times. Whenever I have wanted to have something that is not on the menu, the chef has been very accommodating. The bar staff are also lovely and serve drinks til late. I have stayed in multiple rooms and they are always clean with a lot of attention paid to detail. Each room is unique, ie four poster beds, standalone bath tubs, jacuzzi baths etc. The beds are always comfortable and spotlessly clean. The rooms always have some nice additional extras. The room service is also excellent. I cannot fault this hotel at all. Keep up the good work guys!

Room Tip: Rooms inside the main area have better reception for people on the EE network.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonakam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

On the back of a recommendation pew hired a private dining room for a business meeting.All the staff were helpful, professional & discreet. The food was excellent & service was perfect. We shall return & pass on the recommendation.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jarvis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
2.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,542 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
2.2 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crouchers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouchers Hotel

Address: Birdham Road, Chichester PO20 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: £103 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crouchers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crouchers Hotel is an early 1900's farmhouse which has been converted to house 26 bedrooms in the outside coach house,barn and stables . The main house contains our oaked beamed restaurant , relaxing bar area and lounge. Our staff are always on hand to ensure you are well looked after . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Crouchers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crouchers Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Crouchers Country
Crouchers Country West Sussex
Crouchers Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing