We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bloody Marys”
Review of Crouchers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crouchers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

6 miles from Goodwood, our ultimate destatination, was a bit too far. The hotel seems to be a newish build, stylish and smart, one or two local staff might be a good idea.
Food in the dining room and at breakfast was excellent - if a little pricey for where you are and what it is.

Room Tip: Room 19 in the eaves... delightful, however, a too fancy bath, that looks good (boat shaped) but doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarFonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We arrived in a huge stone covered car park directly off the Birdham Road Chichester on the road to West Wittering Beach and entered the reception area and were greeted by the friendly Maria who swift showed us into the bar area where we could sit with both the dogs in traditional leather high chairs.

Carlo the handsome Italian Manager came and introduced himself and gave us wise advice on the various wines available, which turned out to be very helpful. Our drinks came swiftly and we then looked at the lovely food menu and we both decided to have starters,

The Goats Cheese Risotto turned out to be the best that we had ever tasted which was created by Chef Grant who specialises in the starters.

The Main Course by Head Chef Nick was Duck and I had the Cod, both of these were well presented and cooked" Fusion Style" food and proved to be very tasty indeed with a good combination of both flavours and textures and colours.

For total indulgence we shared a Dessert created by Chef Shaun of White Chocolate and Cararmel Fondant, which proved to be well worth waiting and was cooked freshly in about 10 to 15 minutes, as this proved to the jewel in the crown of the wonderful meal that we had just shared.

We were waited upon by both Devon the girl with a lovely smile and then kindly Jill both of whom gave us excellent friendly swift service.

The overall experience was of staff who enjoyed and took a pride in giving well above average service and that they enjoyed working for us as much as we enjoyed having them serve us.

The establishment is we understand family owned and gives an impression of being both clean and well maintained and yet in a very pleasing kind of individual relaxed style.

We would whole heartedly recommend this establishment to those who appreciate something other than merely another multiple chain pub kind of a place!

Regards from both, Michaela & Roger
We do intend to visit and sample some more of your hospitality and tasty delights!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JollyRogerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel bar is great and clearly had some investment. Bar/restaurant staff service is excellent. The room was not quite as appears on website/pics. Clean but more average motel than luxury. Room door opened directly into courtyard and next to a gravel car park. Next to busy/loud road so awoken very early.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Initial greeting and seating , menu presentation , drinks order etc all well co-ordinated . Decor very pleasant and comfortable . Staff well trained , and attentive for most of the evening .
With only 5 starters and 5 mains on the a la carte , the food should have been better - scallops were luke warm , the duck breast with spring roll was attractively displayed but again only tepid .
The supporting menu was also limited but more of a 'bistro ' style ; it also duplicated a duck and a beef main course which limited the food range .
Additional vegetables were essential , but expensive for what they were ;contrary to the restaurant managers advice the veg portions would certainly not suffice for 2 persons .
Coffee was excellent , and 12 petit fours amongst the party of 4 was generous .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shroptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed at Crouchers three times over the years (my parents discovered it, and love it) and also eaten there, but not stayed over.
For the value-for-money, you will not find anything better.

Our most recent trip was a last-minute over-nighter - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast (booked Wednesday, slept over Saturday). The price of this was £157, and we ate risotto, duck confit, treacle tart, Eggs Benedict. All included in the DBB price. All very good, too.

Apart from the setting, the charm of this place is it's excellent staff. The maître d Carlo remembered us from a previous visit, and was superbly attentive - he even let me try some wine he had recommended, as the owners who were dining in the restaurant had opened a bottle.
The barmaid Carolina is also worth-her-weight-in-gold, as she made us digestif cocktails to our taste at the bar. She was engaging, charming, and provided excellent company. A true professional.

Having stayed in three, and having seen more, all of the rooms in this hotel are lovely; they have quirks, that make each room feel individual, as well as homely.
A firm favourite in our family - we will be back!

Room Tip: Room 2 is not very private - it opens out onto one of the restaurant's outside seating areas, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were visiting Chichester after many years away and needed somewhere to stay for the night. So where do you stay? Ask Trip Advisor, of course!

Crouchers Hotel comes highly rated, and not without reason. The rooms are tastefully decorated and have a lovely outlook onto their own private patios. We opted to eat out in Chichester, but I wish we had stayed now and eaten in - the restaurant here looks lovely.

The staff here are great too. We arrived back at gone 11pm, but the lady behind the bar was more than happy to serve us a couple of night caps and chat until we retired to our room.

the only downside of this hotel is the location. You'll not be walking into Chichester!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed one night while visiting relatives and had dinner, lunch and breakfast in the hotel.

The rooms are in a couple of courtyards outside the main building and are nicely laid out. Ours, like most, had a small private patio with table and chairs, which would have been very nice in summer. The room was well appointed, reasonably spacious and the bed comfortable. The restaurant is a modern extension to the original building, constructed in a wood frame structure which fits in well with the original style. The main building has been opened out to a pleasant reception and bar area.

The hotel was full when we stayed and the restaurant was very busy, but both the service and the kitchen were well able to cope. The food was excellent and the service both very prompt and very friendly. The menu is not extensive (which is often an indicator that everything is freshly made) but well cooked, flavoursome and nicely presented.

I could make the odd quibble (e.g. the coffee at breakfast was poor), but that would really be nit-picking. They did a very good job for the 36 hours we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wine_searcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.2 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crouchers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouchers Hotel

Address: Birdham Road, Chichester PO20 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: £101 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crouchers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crouchers Hotel is an early 1900's farmhouse which has been converted to house 26 bedrooms in the outside coach house,barn and stables . The main house contains our oaked beamed restaurant , relaxing bar area and lounge. Our staff are always on hand to ensure you are well looked after . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Crouchers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crouchers Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Crouchers Country
Crouchers Country West Sussex
Crouchers Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing