We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Hotel"”
Review of Crouchers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crouchers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Great Hotel"”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

12 Rooms booked for Family Wedding held at Southend Barns. Everyone said they had enjoyed their stay at Crouchers. We has a lovely room at the back of the hotel with views over the rear field with a super big bath and the most comfortable mattress on the bed I have ever slept in....! Terrific staff all very helpful and friendly and good breakfasts. Great location for visiting Chichester, Arundel or the Witterings Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AliSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    276
    73
    29
    12
See reviews for
136
433
52
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A lovely hotel with a great aspect at the rear into open paddocks from the garden, the dining rooms and the conservatory.
Terrific service from well trained,attentive, staff with great attitude. Good food well served. We had fun with the automatic toasting machine!
Perhaps a problem for some rooms adjacent to the garden if wedding party guests continue to party on warm evenings into the small hours! (point to note perhaps!)
We thoroughly recommend Crouchers and will return.

Room Tip: Loud at 2.30 am with wedding party guests continuing to party in the garden adjacent to a number of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We love Crouchers. If we can`t stay, we at least, stop for a cream tea on the way home from the beach. When we do stay we love the downstairs rooms at the back, such a lovely view, so peaceful. Staff very friendly and food excellent. We can`t wait for next break at Crouchers, lots to do and see in the area as well. An added bonus is that my husband is 82 and struggles with most baths in hotels they seem to be getting smaller but the baths are huge at Crouchers which makes life easier for him.

Room Tip: Definatelycdownstairs at the back with lovely views across the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great Hotel
Staff always willing to help and the food is superb
Stayed at least twice a year for the last ten years
Best to choose a room at the back of the hotel as it is situated near a busy road
Enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel,less noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

As usual made us and our dog very welcome for this overnight stop. They even set up a table for us in the bar so we could have the dog with us while we had dinner. Even in the bar top class restaurant service and good food. The hotel is nicely placed between Chichester and the beach at West Wittering. Room very quiet and peaceful, so a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Leu-la-Foret, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have asked for 2 quiet rooms to get a rest in the countryside.
We slept with earplugs because of the busy road very close to the hotel.
We stayed 3 nights, the last one was terrible, not possible to sleep before 2:00.
They organise weddings at the hotel, even on thursday nights !!!
Friday morning, the bar next to the restaurant where we had breakfast was still durty.
So we had to cope with the loud vacuum cleaner, while drinking our morning tea. (Don't try the coffee !!).
They offered us a 15% discount on next visit, but we are French and we don't think to come back in this part of England during the 10 next years..!!! So we had no compensation at all.
We won't come back and we won't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose at the back , not on the road !! and ask if they have a wedding !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morvaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I always enjoy my stay at Crouchers. Have been going for 4 years and all the staff are always warm and welcoming and always go out of their way to make me feel comfortable.
The rooms are always clean and have everything one could need. Great value for money. The rooms which don't face the road are very quiet.
The dinner menu is very good and has great seasonal specials. All the staff in the bar area and the dining room are absolutely excellent - including the breakfast staff.
I've travelled all over the world for many years and this is one of my favourites.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the road are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GLP20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
585 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
198 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
12.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crouchers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouchers Hotel

Property: Crouchers Hotel
Address: Birdham Road, Chichester PO20 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crouchers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crouchers Hotel is an early 1900's farmhouse which has been converted to house 26 bedrooms in the outside coach house,barn and stables . The main house contains our oaked beamed restaurant , relaxing bar area and lounge. Our staff are always on hand to ensure you are well looked after . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Crouchers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crouchers Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Crouchers Country
Crouchers Country West Sussex
Crouchers Hotel Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing