We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A fantastic hotel with friendly staff all round. Our evening meal was delicious aswell as breakfast the following day. Stunning decor and brilliant location. I will defiantly be recommending and returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Retrev

Thank you for your fantastic review and giving us five out of five.
Please do come back and see us soon.

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    171
    75
    31
    13
See reviews for
67
273
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A lot that's good about this hotel - the location, the lovely old building, the breakfast, and the very friendly staff on reception and at breakfast. We were disappointed with our room though. Rather than making the most of the high ceilings and big window, it was painted in really dark colours which made it seem even smaller than it actually was, and was also spoilt by a really cheap and nasty, and slightly sinister, piece of art on the wall which resembled a bondage scene. The bathroom was a bit shabby despite a recent coat of paint. It was also noisy at night, with someone having loud conversations in Polish in the street outside in the night. I guess for £125 for a night we expected a bit more, but maybe we were unlucky with our room choice as in other respects it was very good.

Room Tip: Standard room was small, with a small bed and noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NushNushandBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear NushNushandBooBoo

Thank you for your positive comments and your three out of five rating. I am sorry that your room did not meet your expectation. All our rooms are based around six different productions from Chichester Festival Theatre. The décor of the rooms is taken from the original programme a poster of which is seen in each room. Your room was based on Heartbreak House by Bernard Shaw, which starred Sir Derek Jacobi at the theatre. I hope that when you visit again we can arrange for you to stay in a room with a different theme perhaps Uncle Vanya or The Importance of being earnest.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review The Ship Hotel and we hope to see you soon..

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A very well-presented hotel in the centre of Chichester, close to shops, restaurants and the Festival Theatre. Lovely breakfast and very friendly, helpful staff. Our room was a little too warm but spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed. Overall, we had a great stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herefordshire74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Herefordshire74

Thank you for your very positive review and giving us four out of five. We have recently looked in great detail as to the temperature of the rooms and our housekeepers are constantly monitoring the rooms and making window, curtain and fan adjustments when needed which we are sure will solve any future issues.
I am delighted that you spent a very comfortable night with us and enjoyed breakfast in Murrays. We hope you return to The Ship Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at The Ship over Easter for our Mini Moon and couldn't have been more happy with our choice.
The room was spacious, decadent and reception really looked after us... Even kindly having a bottle of Champagne chilled on ice for our return.
The breakfast was amazing and we are so looking forward to coming back to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sekoorb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Sekoorb2014

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your mini moon with us and I have passed on your comments to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager

PS Thank you for the five out of five review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staying for one night we arrived very early (10am) but this was no problem for the very pleasant lady on reception. She issued a permit for the off-road parking at the rear of the hotel and even took my mobile number so that she could call as soon as the rooom was ready, which she duly did. The room was more than adequate and very clean, as was the entire hotel. Very elegant staircase in reception sets the tone for the hotel. Great meal in Murray's restaurant with friendly, efficient service from all. Very good choice for breakfast. 2 minutes level walk to the town centre and Cathedral, couldn't be in a better position.

Room Tip: Very slight early morning noise issue if facing Guildhall Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike504170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Mike504170

Another five out of five thank you so very much. I am so glad we were able to help with your early check in. If we can we will is our motto. I am also very pleased that you enjoyed the cuisine in our restaurant Murrays and hope you had a glass of bucks fizz with your breakfast!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and thank you once again.

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent the Easter break at the Ship Hotel for our 34th Wedding Anniversary and we were not disappointed the room was very cosy and the resturant and bar were lovely food great I recommend the cheesecake ! we will definitely be back close to everything and a car park a godsend these days the staff were amazing even though it was very busy at breakfast and a special mention to Sophie who was calm efficient and amazing!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 26 2 windows one looking into the park . Large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Brenda H,

Congratulations again on your 34th wedding anniversary and thank you for our five out of five and your very kind comments. I have passed your words onto the team and we hope to be able to welcome you back for your 35th anniversary next year.

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We decided to hold our wedding at The Ship Hotel in Chichester on 22nd February 2014 as this is where we first met. However, this wasn't our only reason for choosing The Ship Hotel as our wedding venue. The surroundings are so elegant and sophisticated and bearing in mind we wanted a "Black Tie" with "Evening Dress" occasion, this made it the ideal venue of choice. The Wedding ceremony was also held at The Ship Hotel with large candelabras providing a glowing and romantic glow over the event. Following the ceremony, we had a sit-down 3 course dinner. The food and service was faultless. Many guests commented on the quality of the food and thoroughly enjoyed the luxury canapés prior to the wedding ceremony. Special mention has to go to the wedding coordinator, Natalie. Her attention to detail, and experienced recommendations gave us the confidence to enjoy our special day knowing the course of events was in capable hands. Thank you Ship Hotel for making our wedding day so special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Jennifer H

And what a lovely occasion it was! The bride and groom, family and guests all looked amazing and were such lovely people. It was truly an honour and delight for us to hold your wedding at The Ship. I know that Natalie very much enjoyed hosting and as you say the Priory, Guildhall and Murrays are so ideal for such a special occasion.

We greatly look forward to seeing you soon and wish you both all the very best for the future.

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
3.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
844 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
2.8 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,492 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chichester Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chichester Harbour Hotel

Property: Chichester Harbour Hotel
Address: North Street, Chichester PO19 1NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chichester Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning boutique, Grade II* listed Georgian property, formerly The Ship Hotel, offers a relaxed city retreat with an unrivalled position in the heart of Chichester. It's the perfect place to escape to for a few days of fantastic food, shopping and exploring the South Down's countryside. After a perfect night's sleep in one of the luxurious 36 bedrooms, or the hotel's private cottage overlooking Priory Park, explore the city's enticing mix of boutique and high street shops, renowned art galleries, stylish restaurants and contemporary cafes. Dine in the hotel's restaurant and enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, pre-theatre dinner, lazy lunch or dinner from their range of menus, showcasing fresh, seasonal and local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chichester Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Chichester
Chichester Harbour Hotel West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing