We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good traditional pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Tavern

The Park Tavern
Ranked #49 of 233 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a Fullers Pub which advertises as 'The re-decorated restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy delicious home cooked meal, we also do private function'
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good traditional pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Good selection of well kept ales, unsurprising as it is a Fullers House. Had a halloumi & red pepper sandwich with a side of chips. Nice cheese with pickled peppers and choice of bread, would have preferred the peppers to have been marinated in olive oil as the pickling gave a slightly overpowering vinegar tang. Good chunky chips, will definitely return for a more substantial lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fos64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    59
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely find, reasonable prices and dog friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We went to the Park Tavern for the first time today for lunch. Staff were very welcoming and helpful, food was wholesome, tasty and very well priced. Will definitely go back next time we are in Chichester and will recommend to family who live nearby. Boris the dog liked it too and was allowed in. A great experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went in for lunch during weekend trip to Chichester. Both of us had the burger and I would highly recommend it, great value . Will visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank didnotattend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Why did we wait so long to visit ?!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I am a real 'Trip Advisor' addict and always meant to try the Park Tavern but we usually go for country pubs. We dropped in last Saturday lunchtime - pub was buzzing, dogs in the bar were not a problem, a large table with children in high chairs, noisy in the bar as it echoed with all the wooden floors but again not a problem as the food was excellent. I had a chicken burger and my husband a beef burger, both were freshly served, very generous, home made and super. Really welcoming and cheery bar staff who explained the form when we went in, we ran a tab and they didn't know us from Adam so trusting decent guys !!! We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieHolidays22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
304 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Good value pub lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very popular proper pub in a lovely setting opposite Priory Park. Shared a pully dog which was good value at £9 - lots of pulled pork on a frankfurter with chips & a side of coleslaw. Ploughman's lunch on the table next door looked big enough for 2 people.

It's not glamorous - but clearly one of the better value places to eat round here. Large portions & they take their pub grub very seriously clearly. Nice efficient service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Park Tavern also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Park Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing