We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fulfilled expectations”
Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
Ranked #13 of 247 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$51
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Tucked away in a pretty square behind St Pancras church, our restaurant offers a wonderfully light, yet cosy space to stop for coffee, meet friends for lunch, or enjoy a special dinner. In sunny weather a glass of bubbly or a cocktail al fresco is the perfect way to make the most of the terrace. If you are looking for fabulous French food served in a relaxed and welcoming setting then look no further than this very special little brasserie.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fulfilled expectations”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

As with all chains, one expects a fairly standard product. Given this, and the fact that we had the set menu, I was pleasantly surprised by both the quantity and quality. Portion sizes were very good, the product hot and individually-prepared, and service impeccable. The waiter was aware that we were, like many others, dining 'pre-theatre', so was efficient without rushing us. £14.95 for three courses plus a glass of wine felt like good value, and the popularity of the restaurant was testament to this.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatzDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    315
    103
    58
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Given a table and then deserted!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Sunday August 17 about 2.30 pm entered this restaurant and we were shown to a very visible window seat at the front by whom I think was the floor manager. We were not offered water or asked if we would like to order drinks,we were simply left. Then we saw the manager walk out the front door and away. I wondered aloud if he had forgotten us? We tried to attract the attention of staff, one looked our way then went in the other direction. It was not busy, it was the end of the lunchtime rush so much so that the manager had decided to go and shop! We met him near the front of Carluccios returning from his expedition...he seemed surprised we had not been served.....so were we! I
Raymond Blanc, we went to Burger Kitchen....we got served quickly and they were very very busy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

After many dinners in Blancs we went with friends again this week for an early 5pm dinner prior to a theatre booking. We were first in the restaurant at that time, so presumably they had had time to clean and re-lay the tables. So completely overlooked by the staff, was a plague of blue bottles swarming above our table. We pointed it out to the waiter who explained that they are not allowed to use fly spray, and gave us a menu to swot them with. They didn't even suggest moving tables. At the end of dinner there were 12 dead on the window sill with more destined for an imminent death. Not the most relaxing meal experience. The manager was informed who gave us a nonchalant reply. There was a definite H & S issue which hopefully they will have rectified quickly.
PS the food was good, with no ill effects !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Turners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“French Delight”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We went here on a nice evening and took advantage of the outside space which was lovely. The restaurant is in a pedestrian area and has other restaurants around it so outside has a really nice atmosphere. The menu is varied and the service was slick and friendly and unhurried which was nice. It is typically french and the food was well cooked but the wine list could have been more varied.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Everything Café Rouge wants to be but isn't!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We finally tried Brasserie Blanc for the first time recently and were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed by our waiter who was then polite and friendly there after.
Our food was delicious and we enjoyed a lovely house rosè.
The decor is very well done and interesting to nose at.
Overall we were very happy and will definitely return here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing