We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing second visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
Ranked #154 of 236 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Disappointing second visit”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Having enjoyed a meal here in the summer, I decided to revisit. It was too cold to sit out, so I chose a table inside by a window looking out on the street. I was the only dining customer (it was 2.30pm-ish). I had to wait several minutes for anyone to come to serve me. I chose fish and chips, which arrived in reasonablke time, looking very good. Closer inspection revealed that only the chips and salad garnish were recommendable. The fish looked a rather elderly specimen and tasted a little odd, and under it was hidden little pile of gritty, cold mushy peas. I also had a reasonable glass of house red wine. The salt cellar was empty, in itself revealing a management sloppiness. It is a shame that the presentation of the meal was so much better than the food itself. The meal was not quite bad enough to send back - I onlt discovered the hidden mushy peas once I had eaten much of the rest of the dish. I shall not, on this, showing, return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    10
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Good food, well presented. Interesting menu and comfortable pub with restaurant section in back. They can sometimes get overawed by the number of diners and foregt you, but are very apologetic if this happens.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrocksWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great pub in the heart of Chichester”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This place has always been favoured by me, I guess due to its perfect location. Anyone doing a spot of shopping in this rather pleasant town, may like to check it out.

Despite constantly changing its menu over the years, the food has always been of a high standard. Choice can be slightly limited, but if it's simple and decent home cooked grub that you're after, then this place will not dissapoint. A nice range of ales are always on offer and a nice cosy atmosphere as well. Always a pleasure coming here and we'll be back again soon, no doubt.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Reliable Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

There are always at least two roasts on a Sunday along with a reasonable range of other dishes on their menu. The meat is well cooked (but watch it isn't drowned in gravy!), the food is hot and the portion sizes are good with vegetables served separately. Staff are attentive and service is prompt. The ambiance is certainly not posh but good value for a family meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We visited twice for food and we were pleased on both occassions with the service, friendly and swift, and the quality of the food. The choice of beer was good and on Fri/Sat there was live music for entertainment in the main bar, which we stayed for. The staff and locals were most friendly and helpful. Good value.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

Billingshurst, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing