We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for luch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
Ranked #150 of 233 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent for luch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stopped off for lunch at the Fountain. Excellent outdoor seating area, brilliant club sandwich, friendly bar staff.

Well worth a visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    10
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff and pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had booked this, not knowing the area, for a surprise lunch for family, and I'm glad I did. From the moment I rang to make the booking the staff were helpful.

The food is great pub grub and on Sunday's you can have a roast off the specials, so there is plenty to choose from. The sharing platters are lovely as was the pasta. The staff couldn't be more attentive and allowed us to lounge in there for quite some time while we all caught up with each other. They even took a photo of us all too.

Plus, my Great Uncle seems to think the wall of the pub is part of the original Roman wall round Chichester. Not sure how true that is but it certainly looked old.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TinyKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming. Hot well presented food. Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived unannounced as party if 15 having been let down by slug and lettuce next door. We were a pre wedding eve party mixed age group staff were brilliant. Welcoming. Food all came out together everyone cleaned their plates. Staff friendly and worked really well under unexpected pressure deffo recommend this place and I'm really fussy. Thx for everything .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Groomsmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not so good as last year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We pass through Chi about 3 times a year and in the past have eaten very well here, but it wasn't good this time, The décor has become very shabby with chipped paintwork, & holes in the upholstery. There was a menu outside but none in evidence inside so had to ask for one. No specials on the blackboard where they used to be but we were handed a laminated sheet so it appears they are not weekly or daily specials but installed for the season.

Ordered and paid in advance for fillets of sea bass with lemon, potatoes and samphire. Then told there was only one portion of seabass so I ordered chicken breast stuffed with mozzarella & sundried toms and got a cash refund on the difference. The we were told it was a whole fish (can the chefs not fillet? It's so easy can I do it left handed with a butterknife) and as daveysdad didn't fancy his lunch looking back at him we decided we'd swap meals though he's not keen on tomato.

The sorry limp little fish arrived with 3 uncooked chunks of garlic in its belly and the samphire was mushy. The chicken was adequate but a little dry. No checkback from the staff, who walked past after we were finished and failed to clear the plates or offer dessert. Decamped to Tesco Express for a salmon and prawn sandwich and custard tarts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daveysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Decided to stop by for some food a few months ago on a whim and was pleasantly surprised. Had the fish sharer which was really delicious as well a jacket potatoes that were tasty to. Have since been back for burgers and the ploughmans, both of which were very delicious. As well as the great the food, there is a good choice of local ales and the service was really quick and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSC778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

Billingshurst, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing