We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”
Review of Chichester Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chichester Inn
Ranked #20 of 69 Chichester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for one night as we attended a music function here. Light and airy room, very comfortable beds, clean towels and a reasonable shower. TV and tea/coffee making facilities in room. A very good cooked breakfast is included in the price. Location is very central, about 10 mins walk from the station and near the cathedral. No noise at night.

We got a friendly greeting from Nick, the manager on our arrival and he showed us where everything was.

It suited our purpose and if we were to attend another music function here we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

waited for an hour and half to be let in due to them not opening until 17:30, kettle was full of limescale, towels were dirty, room stunk of fried food and paint.. i was told to open the window and the smell will fade away.. manager just didn't seem to care about any complaints i made.. stated it was too late to cancel my room as need 24 hours notice. the place looks like a run down dirty pub and upstairs looks like a building site.. if i would have known this i would never of booked this place.. the gardens look like a more pleasing place to sleep.... oh and the traffic noise... WOW..

Room Tip: DONT BOOK THIS PLACE.. best tip i can give you..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Manager at Chichester Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

We are very sorry to hear of your complaint from your stay here at The Chichester Inn. We pride ourselves on the quality of our product and are therefore very shocked and saddened to hear that your stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms was not up to your standards!

On your first point about having trouble checking in we would like to apologise for the fact that we have to close from 15:00 until 17:30 during the quieter winter months, but would like to advise that this is clearly displayed on our websites opening hours, and that any guests wishing to check in during this time need only to call the pub phone number clearly displayed on the outside of the building.

Secondly we are also very sorry for the fact that the manager was following standard general hotel procedures by upholding a 24 hour cancellation policy on all pre-booked rooms.

Unfortunately at the time of your stay we had been undergoing some minor refurbishment work on other rooms as well but had hoped this would not be visible to other guests as we ensure the doors are kept locked closed to any rooms that are not for guest use.

Most surprisingly to us the smell of fresh paint in a newly decorated room and brand new equipment such as the towels and kettle not being fit for use is surprisingly unacceptable and we would like to re-assure you all efforts will be taken in the future to ensure this doesn’t happen again!

We would also acknowledge that as we are a pub serving food it is sometime difficult to contain smells from travelling out of the kitchen, but would like to re-assure you that all Bedroom doors are kept closed to minimise this from happening.

We would kindly ask that you would take all these factors into consideration and choose to accept our most genuine apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

An excellent, friendly, CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2014 listed pub serving a changing range of perfectly kept real ales near the centre of town. The pub also has a vibrant music scene showcasing artists from fairly famous names such as Geno Washington and Dennis Greaves from Nine Below Zero, to good local bands getting their first chance on the ladder.
We didn't get around to trying the food (apart from the breakfast which was excellent), on account of the fact that there is a very good Indian Restaurant grafted on to the side of the pub (what's not to like about that!). The menu in the pub did look good though.
Accomodation was also very good and spacious, with comfortable beds and currently just a couple of letting rooms, but more to be added shortly.
In short, we were extremely well looked after and made to feel very welcome by the landlord (Nick). We would definitely recommend this Inn and as sir Arnie himself put it "I'll be back"!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 342SteveO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had our wake for our lovely Aunty in the events room of this pub. Rarely, we were able to reserve the room for our private use at no cost. The Manager/Owner could not have been more flexible and kind when we were trying to make our arrangements and I would not hesitate to recommend this pub. Their approach helped to make a very sad event as good as it could have been. The beer was also good!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Recently visited there inn for a music performance and stayed at the b&b couldn't have been any better!! Amazing staff, venue food and experience! Faultless superb breakfast and amazing location for walking into town

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had spent a while looking around Chichester for somewhere to eat. We found The Chichester Inn and thought that it looked nice. The lady behind the bar was very friendly and inside was comfortably decorated. I ordered the Chicken Burger which was reasonably priced. Unfortunately it took quite a while to arrive. When it arrived I initially thought it looked nice as rather than a typical burger patty it was a chicken breast piece in a bun. After cutting into the meat I thought it looked a little pink so felt the middle of it to see if it was hot enough. It didn't feel that warm which worried me so I reluctantly sent it back. By the time my replacement meal arrived the rest of my family were nearly finishing their meals. I happened to cut into the second chicken breast and it was like rubber, still pink looking and tasted awful. I asked another person on my table to check it to make sure it wasn't me being fussy. He agreed that there was definitely something not right about it. There was no way I was taking the risk with something like chicken. I didn't want to complain for a second time and was so disappointed at this point. At the end of the meal one of my family members decided it wasn't acceptable so did complain. In fairness to the staff member she did take the price off the bill and offered her apologies. It was a real shame that after sending one plate back the second came back and was probably worse than the first! I wish I could say that it was just my dinner that wasn't satisfactory but my brother had rice which was rock solid in the centre (microwaved probably?) I really couldn't recommend it based upon my first visit today.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siobhany25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Manager at Chichester Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

dear sir/madam

we are very sorry to hear of your bad experience here at the chichester inn, and would like to reassure you that this is not the way we usually work here.
Since your visit we have employed a new chef and would like to invite you back for a meal on us to show you that this is not how we usually work.
Should you wish to take us up on this offer please contact Elliott on 01243 783185 and explain the situation.
Once again many apologies and we hope to hear from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were in Chichester and happened on the Chichester Inn when looking for somewhere for a sandwich lunch. It seems to be a "no frills" pub and is very clean. The young lady behind the bar was cheerful and friendly. The food is excellent value for money. (Cheese and red onion sandwich £2.65 and they offered to replace the unwanted onion with salad/cucumber/tomato instead.) At that price I wasn't expecting much, but was impressed - nice bread, tasty cheese, plenty of filling. BLT on ciabatta was similarly good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshiremum_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
1.3 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
952 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The George and Dragon
The George and Dragon
#43 of 69 in Chichester
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chichester Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chichester Inn

Address: 38 West Street, Chichester PO19 1RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range: £67 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chichester Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chichester is a traditional Inn, Grade 2 listed and dating from 1785, conveniently located within the old city walls, and a short walk to the Cathedral, Festival Theatre and Pallant House Gallery. With its separate dining and entertainment bars, heated courtyard garden, accommodation and free car park, this friendly and comfortable pub is a great local meeting place and base to explore picturesque Chichester, Goodwood, the South Downs and nearby sandy beaches. Accommodation is provided in two twin bedded rooms, a double and a single. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Chichester Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chichester Inn West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing