We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Little Cottage”
Elm Cottage Patio and Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elm Cottage Patio and Garden
Cottage private patio and garden Pretty cottage garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Elm Cottage Patio and Garden
Cottage private patio and garden
Pretty cottage garden
kitchen through to bed/sitting room
Enter a caption for your photo
Sitting area with patio doors leading to garden
Kitchen/dining area
Welcome provisions
June 2014
Sunny spot
Picnic table
Enter a caption for your photo
view of the garden
A shady spot under the willow
Christmas
Goodwood Festival of Speed
Arundel Castle
West Wittering Beach
Pretty patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MrsCo77
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Cottage”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful few days at this beautiful cottage. It is perfect for two and has everything you could need. It is perfect for events at Goodwood and exploring the surrounding area. The welcome hamper was lovely and very thoughtful – the fresh eggs were delicious. The garden is lovely for sitting out in and the garden loungers were perfect for watching the meteor shower. The daily visit from the chicken clucking at the back door brought a smile to my face every day! Carol and Jasper were so welcoming. Elm Cottage comes highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interior and Exterior of the cottage perfect
Liked least: A little road noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Elm Cottage. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes
Carol & Jasper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olwyn B
Benfleet
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty, well equipped cottage and garden with welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband, friend and I used the cottage as a base to walk the South Downs Way. It exceeded our expectations in every respect. Both house and garden were very attractive and comfortable with many thoughtful extras provided including a generous welcome basket with fresh eggs from the chickens in the garden. Carol, Jaspar and family gave us and our dog a very warm welcome. We would recommend Elm Cottage without reservations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance and friendly welcome.
Liked least: Some traffic noise at times.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to Elm Cottage. Thank you for taking the time to submit such a lovely review of the cottage and gardens. It was a pleasure to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val S
Camden, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful combination of past history and present comfort; conveniently located”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We loved the photos and adored the reality! Visually engaging, conveniently located to explore the surrounding area, cosy and comfortable. The welcome pack of goodies was the best we'd experienced; the family were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. We feel we have found friends! It was everything we had desired and a fitting final week for our holiday in the UK before returning to Australia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: the feeling of welcome provided by the delightful shabby chic interior and large basket of goodies.
Liked least: there was no "least", we wished we could have stayed longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2013
Thank you for such a warm and wonderful review. We are so pleased that the little extras made your stay at Elm Cottage memorable - although we can't take the credit for the fabulous Spitfire Display that we all admired from the garden on your final evening!
It really was a pleasure to meet you both. We would love to welcome you back next time you visit the UK.

With best wishes
Carol & Jasper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmayor01
Spanaway, Washington
1 review
“Cute, quaint and quiet cottage.”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Close to the Goodwood Estate and Goodwood House. About a 5-7 minute drive to Chichester and not too far from the coast. We went to a wedding at the Goodwood House and with the close proximity and the accomodations we were well rested for the event. Quaint old (but refurbished) cottage with a comfortable bed, bathroom and kitchen with all of the basic utensils and cookware. Outside is a small lawn and a well kept garden and is a great place to sit outside and relax. Owners are very friendly and you can't help but have a wonderful time staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and coziness.
Liked least: Country road 50m from the cottage but didn't effect the wonderful experience.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Elm Cottage. We are so glad that you found the cottage to be a comfortable and convenient base for your recent visit to Goodwood House. We would love to welcome you back next time you're in the UK.
Carol & Jasper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine7...
england
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This little cottage lacks for nothing, Everything you could possibly need has been thought of. We spent a lovely few days there. Thank you Carol

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage
Liked least: road noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on your recent stay at Elm Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Best wishes
Carol & Jasper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexaPP
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, cosy, comfortable little cottage with a relaxing atmosphere"”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Carol and Jasper should really be commended for taking such pride in this rental cottage. It is small but not at all claustrophobic and so much attention has been paid to detail to make your stay feel that extra bit special. From the welcome pack of food & treats, to the Molton Brown products, cosy blankets, dvds and kitchen facilities, the place really has a homely, airy, clean and upbeat feel. The garden is beautiful and relaxing. Our dog was also in her element and was made to feel welcome. There are even dog towels, dog bowl and chain lead to hand should you need them. It was a most pleasant experience and a great deal at very short notice. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean, cosy feel
Liked least: No dishwasher. Can get a little stuffy/humid inside the cottage. No Carpet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Elm Cottage. We have tried to ensure that the cottage has some little extras that can make such a difference to a break away. It was a pleasure to meet you both. We would be delighted to welcome you back sometime soon.

Kind regards
Carol & Jasper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cosy house”
Reviewed 23 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Elm Cottage is a lovely little building, attached to the main house but with its own garden area and all the privacy of a detached building. It's small but has all you need for a short stay, with a combined sleeping/living area (double bed), a good-sized and well fitted-out kitchen/dining space, an additional single bedroom and a toilet/shower room. The welcome from the owners was relaxed, friendly and helpful. We visited at Christmas and the cottage was beautifully decked out. Nice one or two-bed character properties aren't easy to find, so we're glad we found this one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send such a wonderful review of your visit to Elm Cottage. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your short break. We do hope to make everyones stay here memorable by adding a few little extras.
We would love to welcome you all back in the future.
Best wishes and a Happy New Year!
Carol & Jasper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing