We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grown up place with excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amelie and Friends - CLOSED

Amelie and Friends
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Amelie and Friends is an independent restaurant situated in a handsome Georgian building right in the centre of Chichester (where Arthur Purchase & Son and The Dining Room used to be). We are close to the Festival Theatre and the St Cyriacs and Northgate car parks.The stylish interior combines Georgian high ceilings and period features with modern building materials and designer furniture. Come and bask in our large secluded courtyard garden planted with olive trees and mediterranean herbs. All our food is prepared in our own kitchen from fresh ingredients, and the menu features a mix of classics done very well plus some quirky and more adventurous dishes. Our delicious handmade wine is sourced from small organic producers from around the world. Our friendly and knowledgeable front of house team will look after you extremely well.
Petersfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grown up place with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

A nice change from the lunchtime scrum in Chichester of a weekend. Good fresh and creative food, reasonably priced in a lovely setting.
Highly recommended if you want somewhere civilised for lunch.
Have visited 3-4 times and quality has been consistently high.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, Owner at Amelie and Friends, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you very much for your encouraging review. Some lovely new dishes have just hit the menu: baked butternut squash with chickpea fritters (sunshine on a plate), an elegant goats cheese souffle, and my favourite: duck egg, bacon and wartercress salad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,218
    371
    94
    37
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear! A spoilt celebration evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Went with the family for our wedding anniversary and although it was a Saturday night there was only one other couple and not many more when we left . The service was not informative, or very attentive. The menu was limited and not inspiring, the only fresh vegetables on offer was spinach.
There were six of us and the general consensus was that it was still a cafe at night and no real effort had been made to give a restaurant feel for evenings, I .e, very stark and bright, no colour or warmth in the decoration, bright lighting and no soft music, ideal for a brisk daytime venue but not
Restaurant ,not a relaxing enjoyable experience. Most annoying of all was their refusal to allow us to bring the celebration cake in,we have never been refused this before and don't think it is an unreasonable request, it's something I have never encountered before. So to sum up, uninspiring menu, rather mean portions, if you order fish pie that is all you will get, and that was rather dry, no vegetables, served in a small dish, thought i had made a mistake and ordered another starter !, cold, stark (plastic chairs) no atmosphere, somewhere to avoid if you want to enjoy a celebration meal in relaxing surroundings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trishJ158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, Owner at Amelie and Friends, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate the feedback. I am very sorry that the restaurant was not to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An oasis in Chichester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

It's not easy to spot this café restaurant but well worth keeping an eye out for. Charming contemporary/minimalist styling and good food. Convenient for pre-theatre supper. Also worth booking even for morning coffee! Last Saturday we went in around 11.00am and all the tables were taken so we sat at the bar - no bad thing as we could watch the world go by along North Street. Coffee and a tea, plus a delicious brownie for £11.00 inc tip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Expatriotscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, Owner at Amelie and Friends, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you very much for your helpful review. At the weekend I like to sit at the bar to eat breakfast and watch the world go by, and it's a good spot for a quick coffee or a light lunch right at the heart of the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant food; friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Saturday night dinner. Started with a pea and mint risotto, which was pleasant enough. A bit lacking in flavour, but this is often a problem with risotto. The best thing was the main course of sea bream - perfectly cooked with interesting accompaniment. For pudding I had the Chocolat Moelleux - nice texture, but a wee bit bland. I prefer it darker and more chocolatey. Both wines were decent and reasonably priced compared with London. A French Pinot Noir for £25 and a white Picpoul at £20. Service friendly and efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, Owner at Amelie and Friends, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you very much for your helpful review. I'm glad you enjoyed your evening. Eventually we want to be able to rival the better London restaurants, so it is very useful to have your benchmark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh dear. Non existent service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Well, this is now the fourth time we've visited. My previous review ("what a find") raved about this place, and we've been fairly loyal- being locals, an independent restaurant etc.
The 2nd and 3rd time was ok-good, certainly enough to return. Today (Easter Monday), four of us visited for coffee and cakes approx 3 PM. Nobody else in there (2 remaining tables were just leaving).
We were left for approx 10 minutes, no waiting staff to be seen. Time was getting on, so we all got up and left. Went to the Apple cafe in Waterstones (always good food and service). Nobody asked why we were leaving. There was no customer service whatsoever.
I'm genuinely sorry this happened, as I previously really enjoyed this place- and intended to spend my hard-earned here for years to come. Needless to say, as service didn't exist, we won't be back.
I hope service improves for the many customers who do enjoy this place, as (in my experience) the food is good. I just won't be one of them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodvale98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, Owner at Amelie and Friends, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that you had such a bad experience.

We have introduced a 'please wait to be seated' sign to make sure that we are aware of every new customer as they arrive so there is much less risk of a table being overlooked. When we make mistakes we do everything we can to learn the lessons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amelie and Friends also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing