We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much needed break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lockgate Dairy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lockgate Dairy
Ranked #1 of 76 Chichester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much needed break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for a couple of nights recently and were blown away by how wonderful everything was, The accommodation is first class with a very large, modern and tastefully furnished bedroom and en suite that is separate from the main house, a perfect private getaway. Martin is an excellent friendly and accommodating host and the breakfast on offer is the best we have had anywhere (his scrambled eggs are to die for). I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet escape in the country while being close enough to a city and the coast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
94
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Recently stayed for two nights visiting friends in the area. Relaxing room, very comfortable bed, peaceful and spotlessly clean. Martin is an excellent host and his full English would satisfy the greatest of appetites. Shame the weather wasn't better but it didn't spoil our visit. Only critisisums are a) the outside lighting, a light to illuminate the steps by the gate would be worth considering as the steps are different heights and tricky in the dark and b) a handle on the wall in the bathroom by the heated towel rail would be helpful when getting out of the bath ( you tend to grab the very hot towel rail) apart from that, well done and keep up the good work,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebarnB&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We just stayed there for a night with our two children aged 4 and two months and grapa and granma. We were given the two the rooms of the B&B, the entrance of the two rooms is connected, so we felt like having our own apartment
The B&B is very modern and nice. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated and the beds are really confortable.
Martin was extremely helpful to accommodate to our needs he gave us very nice tips about what to see in the area.
Highly recommended! I will definitely come back if I were to visit the Portsmouth area again.
Leo
From London

Room Tip: if you are two couples try to get the rooms in front the conservatory!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoSuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Lovely b and b. The hosts including the dogs are lovely. Breakfast was a treat with lots to choose from and a proper fruit salad platter. Lovely setting and great location for beach and city visits. Def would recommend to friends/ family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in The Pagham suite the day after our wedding for 3 nights. The room was beautifully decorated and had lovely touches such as chocolate, bottled water and fresh milk. Martin was a fantastic host and his breakfasts are to die for!

If you want a quiet getaway in the countryside then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireE666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiddingstone, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We enjoyed everything about this tip top B&B. Staying in one of the converted barn bedrooms, we found it really comfortable and private. All the facilities genuinely were 5* and Martin and Helen made us feel very welcome.

We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the two barn conversion bedrooms, which suited us perfectly. There are other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaKM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed with other couples at the B and B to attend a wedding nearby, all our rooms were really lovely and spotless, Martin and his wife were great hosts and breakfast was great, every box ticked, and what a stunning setting and garden!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j1ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
3.7 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Spire Cottage
Spire Cottage
#1 of 1 in Hunston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lockgate Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lockgate Dairy

Property: Lockgate Dairy
Address: Lockgate Road | Sidlesham Common, Chichester PO20 7QH, England (Formerly The Walled Garden)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lockgate Dairy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lockgate Dairy offers superb, 5-Star B&B accommodation. Once, a working dairy, Lockgate Dairy is set in rural, open farmland away from all busy roads. It is an ideal place for down time at the end of the business day, and a peaceful night's sleep. Road noise is banished, here. The extra little touches you'll notice and a hearty breakfast, the next morning, will see you right through.If you're in the zone more for pleasure rather than necessity, for a short break, then Chichester is famous for its cathedral, the Festival Theatre, the Novium Museum (based at a Roman bathhouse) and high quality restaurants of varied cuisines. With wide streets and plentiful parking, the town is one of the South's most pleasant shopping experiences, unusually, still dominated by independent shops and plentiful interesting architecture.Immediately surrounding Lockgate Dairy is flat countryside ideal for walking, cycling and exploring Chichester Harbour (sailing, boat tours) with numerous charming waters-edge hamlets and pathways, the expansive sandy beach of West Wittering and the nature reserve at Pagham.Drive just 15 minutes and you could be revving it up on the starting grid at Goodwood motor racing track or looking down Runway 33, about to launch into the skies from Goodwood airfield (formerly RAF Westhamptnet, a satellite WW2 airfield to RAF Tangmere where Hurricanes, Spitfires and Typhoons were once based.Drive a further 5 minutes you're into glorious South Downs scenery. There, Goodwood horse racing is a sure bet as is the amazing Weald and Downland Musuem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lockgate Dairy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lockgate Dairy Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing