We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bolt hole when shopping”

The George and Dragon Inn
Ranked #103 of 240 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fresh British food, local ales, great wines & spirits. Here at The G&D Inn, Chichester we make every effort to make you feel at home in our pub, restaurant and rooms, where we also happily welcome four-legged friends. Renovated in 2011, this 16th-century coaching inn now features Ten en-suite bedrooms
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good bolt hole when shopping”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Two of us went in for lunch during a shopping trip.The menu offered a wide range - we plumped for a ploughmans platter to share. This turned out to be suitable for 3-4 people. Size apart it was a splendid selection and well presented. The atmosphere was convivial and the staff were friendly and there was room to put down the shopping bags!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    38
    23
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dont just pass by, this really is good.”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We were wondering where to go for lunch, and after deciding a pub lunch was all we fancied. Decided to try "The George and Dragon", from the outside it looks pleasant enough but once inside , its almost not what you'd expect. The bar area is extremely classy looking, the conservatory very sylish and the garden quant. We opted for the ploughmans I had the ham, my partner the cheese. Both arrived promptly with a warm baguette, excellent coleslaw and salad garnish. It was very good indeed and only £7.50 each. We witnessed other dishes being presented to diners all of which looked very appetising. Added to this good food, terrific service and a good selection of drinks. Which again were very well priced. On the downside, why do so many really good bars / restaurants have not very good toilets. All in all a very good eaterie that is highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorralejoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Very nice meal again. Hard to believe that a drink orientated pub can have such good food. Changed the menu but kept my favourite the lamb and tweaked it for the better! With local asparagus. Also the sea bream was great! Well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
2 reviews
“Hospitality”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Friendly family inn, the hospitality is outstanding. I had an excellent evening meal, extremely tasty and well presented, in very pleasant surroundings. Superb atmosphere, food and ambiance.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and friendly staff highly recommend”
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Brilliant service. Staff so friendly. The menu was fresh and varied. Can't beat it for atmosphere. Best place in Chichester to eat and drink. Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacq1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George and Dragon Inn also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The George and Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing