We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views of possible plant purchases” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm House Restaurant at the Manor Nursery

Palm House Restaurant at the Manor Nursery
Ranked #112 of 233 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great views of possible plant purchases”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

A great little place, especially if you get in early. They have an 'early bird' offer from 10.00 but I am not sure if I benefited from this or not. For £10.50 I got 2 x 187cl 'bottles of wine', a mug of coffee and a full English breakfast with local sausages.. I was entertained by a robin flying around who was quite immune to the fake birds of prey hanging from the girders, presumably to frighten them off.
Apart from this wonderful breakfast I could have chosen a simple cake and coffee. All the cakes looked very good and the roast lunches too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff and reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

The Palm House is justly popular. Even midweek it is always busy. The food ranges from competent breakfast to full on roast dinners with a good range of alternatives at various prices. Also good for afternoon tea with lethal cakes!
Special mentions go to the ciabata based lunches with marinated olives and salad and to the delicious creme brulee.
We use the Palm House a lot and, apart from family, I have also taken business friends there when a more formal meal would have been innapropriate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A pleasant meal at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This restaurant serves good wholesome food at a reasonable price. Not quite waitress service (although this is available for larger groups), in that you see what is available and order at the counter and pay, and then your meal is brought to you. The seating and tables are failrly basic but comfortable and the restaurant itself is in a glasshouse extension of the Manor Nursery Garden Centre. It can get busy in high summer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A home from home for Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

My wife booked a small family gathering here to celebrate my 60th birthday. They arranged a lovely table for 10 and a high chair for our new grandson. Everyone enjoyed the scrumptious roasts and hot and cold desserts - all for less than £10 a head. Food and service was first-class. Nothing can quite compare to a home-cooked Sunday lunch - but this comes close!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank London_UKStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palm House Restaurant at the Manor Nursery also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Bognor Regis, Arun District
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Palm House Restaurant at the Manor Nursery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing