We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous accommodation - The Stables”

Review of Pitlands Barns

Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
The Granary - kitchen The Granary - spacious entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
The Granary - kitchen
The Granary - spacious entrance hall
The Granary - spacious open plan sitting room
The Granary - spacious open plan living area
The Granary - dining table seating 14
The Granary - bedroom
The Granary - garden
The Cart Shed
The Cart Shed - kitchen
The Cart Shed - sitting and dining area
The Cart Shed - bedroom
The Stables
The Stables - kitchen
The Stables - sitting room
The Stables - bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
getawayho...
wokingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation - The Stables”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed here in late August early September for three nights with my husband, 16 year old daughter and her friend - we even took our dog along too! The accommodation was five star with beautiful furnishings. The kitchen was exceptionally well equipped and the bathrooms were both modern and spotlessly clean. There are some lovely walks straight out the front door and we visited Chichester, Portsmouth and West Wittering beach during our stay. There are several good local pubs which are within walking distance. I would recommend Pitlands Barns to anyone looking for a self catering holiday in this area. Thank you to Jenny and Philip for a lovely weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony J...
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Rural idyll.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Excellent accommodation within the National Park. We stayed one very peaceful night and will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quiet
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
501963
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation and location”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

9 Friends, 3 nights, lots of walking, staying at Pitland Barns in The Granary (3 bedrooms) and The Cart Shed (2 bedrooms). There's also The Stables, which has 2 bedrooms. All bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms! A warm welcome from Philip and Jenny on arrival, plus home made cake and 2 bottles of wine. The Barns are very spacious and furnished to a high standard. Lots of useful information about walks, pubs, restaurants and amenities, etc. The walks were fabulous in the South Downs and in Chichester. Pub within walking distance of Barns - food and staff were great. We loved this accommodation. It's a beautiful conversion and it had everything we needed. Do view the website. Would love to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and the Barn itself.
Liked least: Having to leave after only 3 days.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect spot for comfort, hospitality and creativity!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

having searched the internet for a venue suitable for a large group for a retreat I came across Pitlands Barn. Jenny was the most hospitable and helpful host - even before we arrived! We could not have asked for more, the accomodation is spotlessly clean, well equipped and so comfortable. We enjoyed our retreat immensely, starting off each day with a walk through the adjacent countryside, returning to our splendid home from home. Thank you Jenny and Philip for you kindness! The homemade lemon drizzle, bottles of wine, fresh flowers were a perfect touch!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location - we could see the milky way!!
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ender L
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This is an amazing place. A little bit hard to find, but once you are there, you don't want to leave anymore. There was absolutely nothing missing in the two places we rented, called the Stables and the Granary. The Granary is absolutely superb and we had a great time ( 8 adults and 2 children) There were fresh flowers, a home baked sponge cake and some wine waiting for us. If the weather is nice, it's absolutely gorgeous to stay there with children, as there is enough room for them to play outside. I think, that I can speak for the whole family: We loved our week at Pitlands Barns and hope to come back some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The warm and welcoming atmosphere
Liked least: If anything at all, then the bathroom could have been a little bit warmer, since it was pretty cold outside.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoWaters
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow what an excellent place!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We have just got back from a long weekend break at Pitlands Barns and couldn't have found a more wonderful place to stay. Set in the middle of nowehere in beautiful surroundings, the accomodation was magnificent and met all of our needs. The fenced garden area was perfect for letting our 1 year old loose and the two older children were able to explore a little further afield. It was uick and easy to get to Chichester from Pitlands Barns and visit either Hayling Island beach or The Witterings Beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPhili...
Chichester, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Up market in Up Marden!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We have just spent the most amazing long weekend at Pitlands Barns.
The farm is set in a quiet rural location near to Chichester and Emsworth - a really delightful area of the country.
The barn conversion has been expertly executed with both beautiful and stylish furnishings. The accommodation is certainly 5 star and is extremely well equipped with quality furniture, linen and kitchen paraphernalia.
We hired the whole place for a surprise family party. 14 of us used the comfortable bedrooms and there was room for others to stay on the sofa beds which was ideal. Whilst we were there more family arrived for the day to join in our celebrations (the barns themselves being insured to hold 50 people at any one time).
The owners Jenny and Philip are a very friendly couple who helped answer my many questions in the planning stages with prompt, helpful and accurate replies. They welcomed us with a home made cake and flowers in all of the units. They invited the children to join them feeding the chickens and seeing the horses.
Each unit is quite different. The stables is a cosy and beautiful place suiting 4 people. The Granary has a huge lobby an enormous galleried lounge upstairs with stunning natural wood beams and oak dining table which can seat 18 people with ease. Even though the Granary is a big area it feels homely and comfortable. The cart shed is a large unit too which is all on one level and is ideal for children and disabled guests. The lounge are is very spacious and there are two bedrooms for 4 people and plenty of room for somebody else to sleep on the sofa bed. The kitchen area is large, separate from the lounge area and again extremely well equipped. Each unit has a wood burner but we didn't need to use them as the place was really warm (even though it was really quite cold outside). There was always plenty of hot water to get through the endless washing up we seemed to be doing!!
All in all there is absolutely nothing negative that I can tell you about this place!!
So if you are wanting to feel very special and go to a place that is beautiful with 5 star everything then give one of these delightful holiday lets a try - you wont be disappointed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it!!
Liked least: Mobile reception variable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$466
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing