We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, homely and a pleasure from start to...”

Review of Pitlands Barns

Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
The Granary - kitchen The Granary - spacious entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
The Granary - kitchen
The Granary - spacious entrance hall
The Granary - spacious open plan sitting room
The Granary - spacious open plan living area
The Granary - dining table seating 14
The Granary - bedroom
The Granary - garden
The Cart Shed
The Cart Shed - kitchen
The Cart Shed - sitting and dining area
The Cart Shed - bedroom
The Stables
The Stables - kitchen
The Stables - sitting room
The Stables - bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
7 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Will T
1 review
“Beautiful, homely and a pleasure from start to finish”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We hired all three self contained houses for a week in Jan 2015.
My wife's family flew in from Israel and my family drove down from Surrey + London.

The owners are fantastic! They were a pleasure to communicate with, prompt at responding to emails, and easy to reach once on site. They were very accommodating with our 2 large rhodesian ridgebacks.

Each of the 3 properties has its own modern kitchen and living rooms. You need only arrive with a smile and toothbrush as sheets, pots & pans, vacuum cleaners and even milk are provided!

Our favourite was using the enormous dining table (and living room) in The Granary for big family meals and breakfasts. The surrounding area is stunning to walk in and there is SO much to do locally (Portsmouth, Chichester, many beautiful National Trust parks + houses, many pubs).

Pitlands Barns has given all family members many VERY happy memories. All agreed they couldn't wait for me to book it again, only this time in summer. THANK YOU!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All 14 family members could sit at the Granary's enormous table + living room
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie61L...
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay in Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We have just enjoyed a relaxing stay in the most glorious setting. Pitlands Barns is set in beautiful Sussex countryside surrounded by many things to do. The accommodation (we were in The Granary) is luxurious, a first class conversion. The Huxhams were so welcoming to us throughout our stay, helpful and friendly. We were greeted on arrival with a bottle of wine an delicious sponge cake. Every last comfort is included and is of an excellent quality. The living area is spacious and comfortable... the log burner was much appreciated on a December evening. There are plenty of comfortable sofas for relaxing on and seating at the dining table for large parties. The kitchen had everything you could need. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms highly appointed. Everything has been thought of and is of top notch quality. I highly recommend this holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of luxury
Liked least: It was all excellent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in the most beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Pitlands Barns for my sisters hen weekend and couldn't have been more delighted with our choice of accommodation. The barns are stunning and done to such a high standard. The Huxhams were also incredibly welcoming - lovely cake and bottle of wine when we arrived. Thank you, thank you, for the most wonderful weekend.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy E
Blonay, Switzerland
1 review
“Luxury holiday homes in a beautiful corner of England”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just come back from a week's stay at Pitlands Barns in Up Marden, West Sussex. We stayed in the Cart Shed and found it to be spacious and beautifully finished, with luxurious bathrooms and very tasteful soft furnishings. We loved the exposed walls made of Sussex Downs flint and the wonderful garden - with easy access to the woods, our children had a great time and a taste of freedom. A busy farm in the middle of the summer harvest, our boys thought they were in heaven watching the tractors and combine harvester in action. They enjoyed feeding the chickens in the morning and collecting eggs. The Huxham family were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. I particularly appreciated the circular walks booklet and the information guide was the best I have ever come across. We had everything we needed in the cottage and more. A great week !

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grainne d
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Not only was the place absolutely gorgeous the family there were so welcoming kind and generous to us! We had one of the best family holidays ever there just very chilled and relaxed in beautiful surroundings!
The barns well so well kept, HUGE, and designed great to be bright and feel really part of the countryside.
couldnt have asked for anywhere more beautiful.
WE shall be returning!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo F
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning in every sense”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were fortunate to be asked to join our friends who have rented The Granary for a week every year for the last three years. We were blown away by the whole experience. The location is amazing, surrounded by fields of corn and ancient woodlands. An easy 5 minute walk leads to a lovely country pub and the coast at Bosham is only a 10 minute drive away. There's lots if other walks and The South Downs Way is only a couple of miles away.The Granary itself is beautifully presented with so much space and great facilities. The owners are on site and so friendly and helpful, it was a superb place to relax and unwind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angieskin...
Port Orange, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We came for the Goodwood Festival of Speed and found this GEM! The rooms are new and extremely clean - very large and the bathrooms are all modern updated and wonderful. The best part of our stay was the house staff - so much fun and always willing to help. We already re-booked for next year. I NEVER want to stay anywhere else. We left feeling like family. we had 8 couples in our group and one teenager - no one felt cramped and we all gathered in the Granary nightly for wine and cheese. Morning breakfast was also a nice treat. I loved the large windows that we opened at night for great sleeping! Comfy beds too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean!
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing