We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Third time we've stayed here!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pitlands Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 ensuite - Bath with shower.
Bedroom 2 - Kingsize bed. (Granary)
Bedroom 2 - Kingsize bed. (Granary)
Bedroom 2 ensuite - Bath and shower (Granary)
Bedroom 2 ensuite - Bath and shower (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 ensuite - Shower (Granary)
Bedroom 4 - Kingsize bed. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 4 - Kingsize bed. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 4 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 4 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 - Twins or Superking, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 - Twins or Superking, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 - Twins or Superking, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 ensuite - Wetroom with shower, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 ensuite - Wetroom with shower, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Stables)
Bedroom 7 - Twin beds.
(Stables)
Bedroom 7 - Twin beds.
(Stables)
Bedroom 7 - Twin beds.
(Stables)
Bedroom 7 ensuite - Shower (Stables)
Bedroom 7 ensuite - Shower (Stables)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
7 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SaraPhili...
Chichester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Third time we've stayed here!”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Another fabulous weekend at the Barns. Thank you to the Huxham's for such a great, friendly place for our family and friends to stay in. We have had fun, laughter and sunshine in wonderful surroundings. Looking forward to another break next year. Thanks again.

Date of stay: April 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamalyred...
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A delight, from the warm welcome, complete with home made cake and a bottle of wine, to the beautifully appointed sitting room, kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms. A big basket of logs stood ready next to the wood burner, complete with kindling and fire lighters, with milk in the fridge and teabags at the ready, we were soon lounging in front of a blazing fire admiring the view of the South Downs. We will return in the summer to enjoy dining on the patio, taking more long walks in the woods and dropping into the two nearby pubs for tasty meals. This time we stayed in the Cart Shed as there were only two of us, for next time we plan a family gathering - occupying all three barns. Can't wait! See you then Kelly and Philip! And thank you for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie N
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pitland barns: The most luxurious accommodation in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We booked all three barns for our family, whom are scattered all around the world, to gather together and celebrate our lovely mums 70th birthday. The barns are stunning, designed and equipped to the highest possible standard. The setting was idyllic surrounded by the beauty of nature, deers, badgers and woodpeckers were regular sightings. It was so peaceful to just sit, in the south facing garden, and lap up all the tranquility and beauty the area had to offer. We had some lovely family fun walks through the woods. Den building and swinging from the tree swings was had by all. The 'Granary' was huge, the dining table comfortably accommodated 16 people and the lounge had four large sofas and a gorgeous log burner. We had some lovely meals and family times which we will remember forever. We can't thank the Huxham Family enough, a warm welcome from Kelly and Philip on our arrival and you so kindly accommodated all our needs and allowed the 2 dogs to join the party too. The tasty cake and wine went down a treat as well. We definitely hope to be back again. So many great memories thank you.

Date of stay: February 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will T
1 review
“Beautiful, homely and a pleasure from start to finish”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We hired all three self contained houses for a week in Jan 2015.
My wife's family flew in from Israel and my family drove down from Surrey + London.

The owners are fantastic! They were a pleasure to communicate with, prompt at responding to emails, and easy to reach once on site. They were very accommodating with our 2 large rhodesian ridgebacks.

Each of the 3 properties has its own modern kitchen and living rooms. You need only arrive with a smile and toothbrush as sheets, pots & pans, vacuum cleaners and even milk are provided!

Our favourite was using the enormous dining table (and living room) in The Granary for big family meals and breakfasts. The surrounding area is stunning to walk in and there is SO much to do locally (Portsmouth, Chichester, many beautiful National Trust parks + houses, many pubs).

Pitlands Barns has given all family members many VERY happy memories. All agreed they couldn't wait for me to book it again, only this time in summer. THANK YOU!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All 14 family members could sit at the Granary's enormous table + living room
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie61L...
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay in Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We have just enjoyed a relaxing stay in the most glorious setting. Pitlands Barns is set in beautiful Sussex countryside surrounded by many things to do. The accommodation (we were in The Granary) is luxurious, a first class conversion. The Huxhams were so welcoming to us throughout our stay, helpful and friendly. We were greeted on arrival with a bottle of wine an delicious sponge cake. Every last comfort is included and is of an excellent quality. The living area is spacious and comfortable... the log burner was much appreciated on a December evening. There are plenty of comfortable sofas for relaxing on and seating at the dining table for large parties. The kitchen had everything you could need. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms highly appointed. Everything has been thought of and is of top notch quality. I highly recommend this holiday home.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of luxury
Liked least: It was all excellent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in the most beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Pitlands Barns for my sisters hen weekend and couldn't have been more delighted with our choice of accommodation. The barns are stunning and done to such a high standard. The Huxhams were also incredibly welcoming - lovely cake and bottle of wine when we arrived. Thank you, thank you, for the most wonderful weekend.

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy E
Blonay, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Luxury holiday homes in a beautiful corner of England”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just come back from a week's stay at Pitlands Barns in Up Marden, West Sussex. We stayed in the Cart Shed and found it to be spacious and beautifully finished, with luxurious bathrooms and very tasteful soft furnishings. We loved the exposed walls made of Sussex Downs flint and the wonderful garden - with easy access to the woods, our children had a great time and a taste of freedom. A busy farm in the middle of the summer harvest, our boys thought they were in heaven watching the tractors and combine harvester in action. They enjoyed feeding the chickens in the morning and collecting eggs. The Huxham family were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. I particularly appreciated the circular walks booklet and the information guide was the best I have ever come across. We had everything we needed in the cottage and more. A great week !

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.