We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Classy Hen Do Venue!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pitlands Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 ensuite - Bath with shower.
Bedroom 2 - Kingsize bed. (Granary)
Bedroom 2 - Kingsize bed. (Granary)
Bedroom 2 ensuite - Bath and shower (Granary)
Bedroom 2 ensuite - Bath and shower (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 ensuite - Shower (Granary)
Bedroom 4 - Kingsize bed. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 4 - Kingsize bed. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 4 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 4 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 - Twins or Superking, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 - Twins or Superking, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 - Twins or Superking, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 ensuite - Wetroom with shower, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 ensuite - Wetroom with shower, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Stables)
Bedroom 7 - Twin beds.
(Stables)
Bedroom 7 - Twin beds.
(Stables)
Bedroom 7 - Twin beds.
(Stables)
Bedroom 7 ensuite - Shower (Stables)
Bedroom 7 ensuite - Shower (Stables)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
7 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

LindseyCW
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Classy Hen Do Venue!”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were a group of 16 women aged from 25 to 60 something! What a fabulous venue... beautiful, spotlessly clean, spacious and well designed. Right from the start we loved it when we arrived to find a home baked cake, some flowers and a bottle of wine! Kelly the owner came to see us briefly when we arrived and then after that just left us to it, but let us know she was there if we needed her. We used caterers Cook & Buttle recommended by the venue for a meal on one of the nights and they were fabulous too. The location is stunning... in the middle of nowhere so we really felt we were a long way from anywhere. The barns have everything you could need. Couldn't speak more highly of the place. Thank you so much to Pitlands Barns.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully renovated barn in immaculate condition.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
Thankyou so much for your lovely review - so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves.
Kind Regards
Kelly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thethomas...
Minster on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Chill Out Location”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We visited Pitlands Barn over the New Year period with friends and their children. We occupied two of the Barns and both were fabulous! Barns are luxurious and super well equipped with everything you need. There was plenty of information on things to do around the area. Would thoroughly recommend and would like to return.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fab location and luxurious feel to the barns
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nessiecal...
2 reviews
“Best holiday house we have stayed in so far as a family of 8”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had a fabulous long weekend in the spacious clean and well equipped Granary. The cake and wine on arrival was a lovely touch. Although the weather was a bit drizzly we had lovely long walks through the woodlands.
We look forward to staying here again next year!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan kitchen, dining and lounge on the same level
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley63...
Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was a last minute booking for us. Contacted Kelly at 0830 on the Tuesday morning, she replied by 9am, following a couple of phone calls (which Kelly answered immediately) we were in the Stables property late that afternoon! Communication with Kelly was first class - thank you. Great directions for arrival. On arrival down country lanes you feel immediately relaxed, then you come to the Pitfield Barns properties - wow, they do not disappoint. We were met by Kelly and Mr Huxhams, they were both lovely, professional and so very helpful. Showing us fully around the property, explaining everything. We were left a homemade sponge cake, tea, coffee, sugar and milk, and a dozen red roses , that was very much appreciated. The stables was spotlessly clean, I mean SPOTLESS. We have never ever stayed in such a clean rental property. We have been in hundreds over the years and this is the very first time (genuinely) that I have not cleaned the work surfaces, or sinks before we unpack. It was clean enough to let your toddler happily move around without having any concerns. The kitchen is a full home from home - weighing scales and a hand blender too, no detail has been left out. The roasting trays do not come with the previous occupants meals attached, no, they are all so immaculately clean. Iron, ironing board, clothes airer, outside washing line - with pegs, there is literally nothing you could want or need in addition to what is provided. Outdoor furniture which is so clean you can sit immediately - usually you have to clean the dna from the local wildlife - not here. Then you have the Webber barbecue, again, cleaned to a high standard, including tools. Oh and also the coals to go with it. If you're looking for faults you won't find them inside or out. The beds are so comfy and have excellent quality bedding. Towels are again of a high standard, plus toiletries AND cleaning products provided. The location is stunning, peaceful and breathtaking. The information provided re walks, local area attractions and white goods instructions inside the property were extensive and very well presented - my husband actually read how to use the washing machine and almost used it because it was so clear - but then stopped himself!!! TV's in each room and some board games. The wood burner with all logs provided was a fantastic bonus but we found the house so warm we didn't need it. If you want luxury book here! This may be a business on a working farm but it is run by people who actually have the needs of their guests as being the most important - they have achieved this and more. Thank you for providing such an immaculate holiday home and just allowing us to enjoy the peace and tranquility the barns have to offer. We have 2 days left out of a 7 night break - they may have to evict us!!!!! David and Michelle S.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave in 2 days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Judith
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Barns and location”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in The CARTSHED with my sister and her Husband for a week as they had come over from the USA to attend a Wedding with us the previous weekend in Brighton We found the sitting dinning and kitchen areas to be very spacious and with comfy sofas .The large bedroom (that was also suitable for the disabled ) was comfortable and there was a patio door out into the garden My sister and her husband used this room We used the smaller room and the bed was very comfortable but the space between the bed and the Wardrobe was very tight indeed so we could not open the Wardrobe door fully the bathroom was fine but a shower screen would be an advantage even though it is only a hand held shower We enjoyed our week there are many places of interest in the area

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere at the Barns and the spacious sitting areaans ouside patio
Liked least: no shower screen and lake of space in the second Bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Idyllic location. Beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home after a fabulous stay at The Stables at Pitlands Barn. The property is of a high standard, well-equipped and spotlessly clean. There was nothing that we needed that wasn't provided. The hosts were very friendly and the wine, Victoria sponge and fresh eggs much appreciated. We were all thoroughly relaxed at the end of our stay and will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting and high quality of accommodation
Liked least: The single track road on the way to the property but all drivers very courteous about passing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzi6620...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“A fantastic place for a multi-generation family weekend away.”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved this peaceful, rural retreat for our extended family of 12. The accommodation was comfortable and spacious. It worked well for all three generations - from elderly grandparents who needed level access to the younger grand children.
We loved the garden to sit out, and barbecue, and play games. The younger children loved exploring the woods above the farm and helping feed the chickens. The location in in gorgeous countryside.
Kelly and her family were excellent hosts and made us feel at home and welcome.
We'd definitely recommend Pitlands Barns.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Comfortable, spacious and peaceful.
Liked least: We felt the lighting in the kitchen area in the Granary could have been improved a little - a minor niggle.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.