We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Property, Lovely Location”

Review of The Stables

The Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stables
Entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Stables
Entrance hall
Well equipped kitchen and dining area
Sitting room
Bedroom 1 - twin
Ensuite shower room for bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Ensuite bathroom for bedroom 2
The Stables patio area and garden
Patio area
Pitlands Barns looking south
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
CathGDevo...
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Property, Lovely Location”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Booked this as a last minute break for a family of four in half-term. From the pictures we were expecting a great deal from this property and to be honest it did not disappoint. Everything was beautifully appointed and the simple touches from arriving at the Barns to be greeted by the owners, to finding fresh flapjacks, tea, coffee and milk waiting for us, made our short stay a very pleasant one.
Each room has been lovingly appointed and shows a lot of care and attention by the owners. The bedrooms were both en suite and the main living area upstairs was just right for our family. The underfloor heating meant that we were always cosy even when it was blowing a gale outside and the kids loved having free-view TV in their room.
We had a great stay but as this was in late October we did not have an opportunity to make the most of the countryside walks straight from the properties front door. So to remedy this we have already booked a return visit for next spring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not a single thing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandCritt...
Knysna, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An eco-friendly gem near the South Downs”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We enquired with Phil and Jen when we were already in the UK, using our ipad and Tripadvisor. Phil called us almost straight away and confirmed our booking. From that moment we had the most effortless stay with them.

On arriving we were given the warmest welcome by them and their 3 friendly dogs. There was milk in the fridge, fresh farm eggs and even home-made flapjacks. I was thrilled to see the recycling bins, composting caddy and eco-friendly cleaning products in the cupboard - certainly people after my own heart.

My husband was thrilled to find we had our own BBQ, the kitchen was well equipped and no detail had been missed in the loving renovation. A warm and cosy spot, I didn't want to leave!

The location is peaceful, and within walking distance of a village pub. It's a great base from which to explore the surrounding area - including the roman ruins in the village and Arundel castle which is a short drive away.

In a word - wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The thought given to eco-friendly and sustainable living
Liked least: That I had to leave :-)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_UK
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Excellent accomodation & location. What you see on the photos, is most definitely what you get & for holiday rental, it's amazing. All the amenities are well considered & well chosen. Definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect country escape”
Reviewed 12 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Pitlands is set in a stunning valley and the barn conversions fit perfectly. The owners haven't missed any details and everything has been completed to a very high standard. The Stables has a very spacious living area upstairs and two very comfortable bedrooms downstairs, a perfect way to escape with friends.

There are numerous pubs in the area which are just a short 15 minute walk up and over the hill. There's also an almost endless choice of walks from the barns and The South Downs Way is just a short drive North.

The owners are incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble, I will definitely be trying to find time to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the barn
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea06
London, England
1 review
“Beautifull accomodation and fabulous location”
Reviewed 15 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed in the stables whilst our friends were in the slightly larger barn, the Cart Shed. Both properies have been completed to the highest standards. The photos that Jenny and Philip (the owners) have provided on the website are a true reflection of what you will find. We were provided with a home baked cake and bottle of wine on our arrival. Jenny and Philip made us feel as if we were visiting family members! In fact we did meet most of their own family who were equally charming. The barns are set on the family's private farm and border local woods. We had some lovely local walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and clean accomodation
Liked least: No faults with the property.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A G
A
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: What you see os what you get, and its great!
Liked least: Niets negatiefs
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing