We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of The Fox Goes Free

The Fox Goes Free
Ranked #3 of 251 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

My family and I are big fans of the Fox goes free, great food in a relaxed atmosphere. Staff are excellent and the young chap behind the bar really did make it a special visit.
Will return and continue recommending.

Thank rachel_a_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your positive comments about the Fox and staff, hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 665 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We've been coming to this pub on and off for a very long time, but because we don't live locally, it had been a while since our last visit. We had our evening meal in the restaurant which was virtually empty when we arrived for 7.00 p.m. but was full by 7.30! But, unlike some other pubs I can think of, that wasn't to the detriment of the meal. Both our shared starter, main meals and shared sweet were absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection. In fact I haven't enjoyed a pub meal that much for a long time. The waitresses were efficient without being intrusive and I would recommend the Fox without hesitation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Beverly56_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your kind words and review. Delighted you had enjoyable visit and meal.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

As 2 families we came to The Fox after a great walk in the South Downs, it has been a really warm and dry weekend so it was difficult to book a table (called on Saturday afternoon, not their fault) but they were great in sorting us out. As it happened the day was beautifully warm and we chose a table in the great garden. It was clear that the pub had been swamped with the amazing weather but the staff were great in dealing with our relatively large order for drinks and food. We were warned that food might take 30 minutes but the food arrived in 15 minutes exceeding our expectations and was really good. We ordered cod loin, risotto, a great chicken escalope with garlic butter dressing, turbot, pork roast and 2 children's fish and chips. All were greatly received and well delivered. Well done to you all for what we know would have been an early "rush" before the usual season.

1  Thank Leeds71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. Delighted we managed to get you a table and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Been to the fox a few times ... It's a gorgeous cosy pub in a idyllic location . The food is lovely pub grub but feel over priced . The last time we went was with my family on a Sunday ... It was very busy and unfortunately needed a good clean and tidy as tables were left with dirty plates and glasses for a long while before being taken away . Other than that , the service is ok

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fryrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Fox last Sunday. You may have read a visiting customer similar review with regard to the clutter which for us is not a normal days service. As my response to them as to you we had an exceptionally busy day with fantastic numbers visiting us. It is a solid testament to my team we keep the service going without delay and I hope you understand our desire is to look after our guests, which means everyone who comes through our doors.

I hope this wont put you off visiting us in the future. I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience with us and hope you will contact me either directly at the Fox or by telephone (01243811461).

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lunch with my son, who likes a pint here, was very pleasant. The staff are very friendly and courteous and smile! The food was very good with a menu that would suit most tastes. It always seems busy, which is a good thing but sometimes can compromise the 'clearing up'. Anyway a great place to take someone if you want to walk it off later in the surrounding countryside.
PS access in the winter is a bit hairy down the narrow lanes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 7GTAM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review and thank you for your overall positive feedback on the Fox. Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox Goes Free also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Bracklesham Bay, Chichester
 

Been to The Fox Goes Free? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing