We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service, location etc”
Review of The Fox Goes Free

The Fox Goes Free
Ranked #4 of 250 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had dinner here on Saturday evening, four adults and two children. The place is an absolute gem, lovely location, great ales, wonderful food and great service. We had had a long but very enjoyable day at Goodwood Motor Circuit and this was the perfect way to relax and unwind. In all the years we've been to Goodwood, I cannot explain why we haven't eaten here before! Keep up the good work guys.

Thank TRHW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi,

Delighted your meal and evening was a success, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for The Fox Goes Free
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 603 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had booked a table for 2pm on a Bank Holiday. Weather was nice and they had received good reviews in the Sunday Times the day before so it was extremely busy. We were advised by staff that there would be a wait of about an hour for food. Staff were polite and handled the waiting situation as best they could. In the end, we probably waited around 40 minutes and tums were rumbling a little so the food was most welcome. We chose a fish pie which was piping hot and tasty. Loved the tangy cheese on top. Also a rib eye steak with peppercorn sauce. The steak was excellent quality and cooked to perfection. It would have been preferable to serve the sauce in a jug so another time we shall ask. Everything was fresh and home-made. The pub is in a pretty area, is very old and atmospheric. Good choice for a nice day out in the lovely Sussex countryside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OrianaB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our pub. We are always pleased to receive feedback, even more so when it’s so positive. Thanks again.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stumbled across this pub whilst driving from one potential wedding venue to another. We decided after viewing the second venue to head back and have lunch at the Fox Goes Free. The food was superb and the service was excellent. Can't wait to head back soon for some country walks and more good food.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you so much for your favourable comments of our staff, service and home-cooked food.

We hope to see you back very soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I am not sure I'd ever have reached the place without GPS - lost in a beautiful valley surrounded by sheep farms. The pub with low ceiling and odd little rooms for bars had an ancient charm that is seldom found these days. No TV on any where; just a lot of locals - and a dog - gathered at the end of the day for a drop of beer - including on tap a very fine local draft. The food was superb and the service magnificent.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Very good of you to speak highly of the staff and your experience. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

From the initial enquiry of a table booking for Easter Saturday in the beautiful garden, to the safeguard of a booking inside also (questionable weather!), lunch at the Fox Goes Free couldn't be faulted. The restaurant and bar was heaving when we arrived, but we were shown straight through to our table and a drink’s order was swiftly taken and delivered. There was a wait for food (around 40mins) but an order of bread and olives soon filled the time before our mains arrived. A relaxed atmosphere with country walkers and special occasion diners alike, not a fault in service and the food was fantastic, a must visit for anyone in the Goodwood Estate area.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank TheHotellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi,

Delighted you and enjoyed your lunch with us and thank you for your review!

Hope to see you soon,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox Goes Free also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Fox Goes Free? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing