We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great South Downs pub - handy for Goodwood and much else”
Review of The Fox Goes Free

The Fox Goes Free
Ranked #4 of 247 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great South Downs pub - handy for Goodwood and much else”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Enjoyed an excellent lunch in this historic pub (venue for the first WI meeting in 1915) after walking on the South Downs. This is a deceptively large pub in a small village around a mile from Goodwood, the Weald and Downland Open Air Museum and West Dean College & Gardens. There is a limited but interesting menu supplemented with specials displayed on the blackboard. A good range of real ales and wines is also offered. The garden with its unspoilt views of the South Downs is noe of the most pleasant dining/drinking experiences imaginable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swetrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your lovely feedback, great to hear the food, service and atmosphere are to your liking. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    211
    64
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a gem of a pub in the South Downs”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After receiving a poor reception from a nearby pub, we decided to travel down the road to this pub to get a bite to eat. We were greeted with a warm friendly welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

We sat in the wonderful gardens enjoying uninterrupted views of the Downs. We knew we had hit jackpot with this pub as it was full by noon and cars parked all down the road. We ordered the Fox fish pie and their homemade pie of the day which was chicken and mushroom and both meals were hot, delicious and home made. Fantastic. Will be back for sure - just make sure you get there early to avoid disappointment

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and thank you for writing such a nice review about your experience.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Awful Service”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Walked into the Fox goes Free to an Empty pub, we had booked and got sitted by the Front Door. The Customer Service was non existant with us having to Order from the Bar for our Food, the Menu wasn't explained and too be honest the Menu was Bland and boring oh and on Paper sheets. We ordered and the Food Arrived there was no conversation when the Waitress brought the Food and also my Pet hate, She didn't even have the decency to come back and check if everything was ok. Food was Good but was let down by Customer Service, don't know why this place has a Rosette. Over-priced bland Menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Hi,

Thankyou for taking the time to write about your experience at the Fox Goes Free. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit but would like to discuss this with you personally. If you have a spare few minutes please contact me on 01243811461 or via the website.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely English Pub in country setting”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have been here a few times, to eat and just to relax in sunshine in the garden. This is a country village pub situated in the south downs and has lovely scenery of typical English countryside (including the lanes you need to take to get here!). It has open fires and a beamed interior which gets snug and cosy as well as a lovely garden out back which is wonderful on a sunny day with enough space for children to loiter and relax but without play equipment (to the delight of adults!). Food is great and staff welcoming. Would not hesitate to go back.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi,

Delighted we accommodated you and thank you for writing such a nice review about your experience.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Where the Sheep meets the Fox.....”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a fantastic and unique landscape! We have been there to enjoy some days out of cities and we totally loved it. The food was great - the garden beautiful and you can stay over night for an affordable price. They serve Sunday-roast and offering a nice selection on beer and vine. More than just a pub!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Netti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your favourable response, I was very pleased you enjoyed your dinning experiance with us and hope to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox Goes Free also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
West Ashling, Chichester
 

Been to The Fox Goes Free? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing