We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Dinner for 2”
Review of The Old Greenhouse

The Old Greenhouse
Ranked #3 of 239 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$58
Cuisines: British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A small 16 cover restaurant in a converted greenhouse on the main road in Fishbourne West Sussex.The restaurant is only open for pre booked tables. Ideal as a private dining room. We offer a 3 course menu,that is updated daily and can incorporate your own favourite dishes, this is priced at £32.50 Inc coffee.We also open for "diary date" events such as mussels,lasagne,gourmet dinners,Local and wild food events. For details of these please e mail Nik. We are not a grand restaurant, the emphasis is on delivering a quality and where possible locally sourced meal in an intimate and imaginative way. Nik Westacott Chef and owner has over 30 years experience in the restaurant sector and now runs the adjoining four star bed and breakfast 82 Fishbourne and a busy outside catering business.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
144 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner for 2”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

On a weekend trip to Chichester from London, took a taxi out to this B&B for dinner. It's a little out of town, but wirth the journey. It's actually a B&B (which I didn't realise), but the "restaurant" is the greenhouse in front of the main building.
Reservations only, and Nik is very friendly. He was serving at front of house, with an assistant in the kitchen.
The wine list is very reasonable, and includes a lovely Prosecco (which I would highly recommend). If you let him know dietary requirements, he may try and accomodate you if he can adjust things. Food was excellent with enough on the menu to select from. The desert trio we had was particularly good, and personalised with a birthday wish on the occasion.
I'd have no hesitation on returning if I'm in Chichester again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ugm6hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    20
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hayling
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked TOG for my birthday which was on a Monday night in March. There was eight of us and Nik opened just for us. We had never been before and so didn't really know what to expect but wow!! The food and hosting was just fabulous as was the wine list which was exceptionally well thought out and the prices were not over inflated. Would certainly recommend TOG for an intimate family gathering/private party. It was like having a personal Chef at home! Well done Nik.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mindiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GEM of a place ”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

There were 14 of us and we all had a wonderful time. It was nice to have the conservatory to ourselves, made it very warm and friendly.

Nik the chef and owner was wonderful and the food was just delightful. You can really tell how passionate Nik is about the food he cooks and that also comes across in the flavors that he creates.

Whatever the occasion or tastes you may have, Nik is always pleased to accommodate.

Helpful?
1 Thank Soozle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great night for a birthday evening. ”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We booked TOG for a private party for my wife's birthday with 10 friends. We didn't know quite what to expect and we were relying on the reviews on TripAdvisor. We had a great setting with one big table and all 12 of us around it. We had a number of food and catering professionals in the group so we had some high expectations. We couldn't have been happier, great wine, great food and great service. The staff were attentive and the food really tasty and well presented and suiting the seasons and locality. The menu and wines are reasonably priced for what was a great night.

Thanks for a great night, we will be back and recommending TOG to friends.

Helpful?
3 Thank Leeds71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Visited TOG one weeknight with my girlfriend after a recommendation from my parents for a set menu meal.
First impressions were how fantastic the hospitality was and how unique and different TOG is. We instantly felt comfortable and welcomed in the surroundings and as though we were with close friends despite being a first visit.
The food was simply fantastic, fresh and vibrant ingredients cooked with real flair and imagination, bettered by the explanation from Nik of cooking processes and food sources.
We absolutely loved this place and can honestly say there is nowhere else that compares in unique appeal. Fantastic all round and already looking forward to my next visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank dcbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nn1Sussex, Owner at The Old Greenhouse, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Always a pleasure. Really glad you enjoyed your lunch. It was a challenge to incorporate all your food "likes" but I think we incorporated everything, including the Yorkshire puddings with the roast lamb!
Thank you very much for your super review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Nik Westacott chef/ owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Greenhouse also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Old Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing