We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning gardens, perfect day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Dean Gardens

West Dean Gardens
Ranked #8 of 63 things to do in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Dean Gardens is one of the greatest restored Gardens open to the public in England. Wander through the 300 foot long Edwardian pergola, visit the restored Victorian glasshouses, Walled Kitchen Gardens, Sunken Garden and orchards. Finish with a walk through the arboretum, Spring Garden and the peaceful parkland. Enjoy and inspirational day out visiting West Dean Gardens. A rare oasis of beauty and tranquillity in the heart of the South Downs.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning gardens, perfect day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We visited West Dean Gardens a few days ago, and as regular garden visitors (we were on our way back from the Hampton Court Flower Show) were delighted to find one of the best gardens we have ever been to. Each element of the gardens was well thought out, dramatic, interesting and beautifully cared for....and as we walked around the grounds, we found areas of contrasting interest around every corner. And the cafe was good too! Well done, West Dean....a real 'find' for us...we will be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    107
    22
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Contrasting gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The gardens comprise two parts- lovely borders close to the entrance and the amazing landscaped grounds and walks around the college. The sunken garden leading to a pergola is spectacular and the damp and dry gardens have to be seen. Don't miss the glass fibre trees! The plant sales contained some unusual offerings and were quite reasonably priced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“See it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

In the middle of nowhere lies this old and beautiful garden. The vegetable garden and all the victorian glass houses alone is worth the trip but the garden consists of so much more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henrik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Parkland walks and landscaped gardens. The greenhouses are the best with vegetables and cottage walled garden planting so full of butterflies

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Binnsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sandwich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We decided to order coronation sandwiches at Westdean Cafe which were about £.6.50 each and were served with stale bread and a very very merge portion of chicken . We shall not be eating sandwiches here again!!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestDean, Guest Relations Manager at West Dean Gardens, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am sorry to hear how disappointed you were with the sandwiches you were served in our Gardens Restaurant. We try very hard to maintain high standards in the quality of our food and I have passed your comments onto our Restaurant Manager so I hope you will see some improvements the next time you visit.
From all of us at West Dean thank you for giving us your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to West Dean again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Dean Gardens also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Bosham, Chichester
 

Been to West Dean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing