We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Store Guest House
Ranked #4 of 76 Chichester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wedding stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We had a pleasant stay, we were at a wedding so stayed two evenings, we were so looking forward to other reviewers comments. I.e the fresh cream scones on arrival fresh bread at breakfast, toiletries an we had the deluxe room 7 ! , (shower gel) local produce, but unfortunately we didn't see any of these. I tried to hang up my dresses in the wardrobe but it was quite small for my knee length dress so had to hang on bathroom door. also my partner really hit his head on the door frame as he is 6'2" so if your tall remember to duck when entering the room. We were also quoted a different charge than our bill at the end of stay, but they did rectify when was pointed out.

Breakfast was nice fresh fruit a bonus. But felt a bit rushed when others in my party had finished eating an he wanted to clear away an I hadn't finished! The chill our room before the breakfast room, was also very small so when we sat down the other guests couldn't. But we only stayed for a cuppa.

We went into chichester for a meal on Friday, an then the wedding on the saturday so had to use taxis which were very expensive. Which were less than 5miles drive. Each way £15 just added to the bill, there was a pub/restaurant at the end of the road but walking back was a hazard as it was pitch black no street lights, one of our guests tripped over so take a torch if you venture out. Also I feel they should have blackout curtains for a better night sleep as when it hit daylight I was awake.

All in all nice guest house very clean, very helpful but you get what you pay for.i would stay in Chichester nearer other amenities next time.

Room Tip: Deluxe room 7 has the king size superior but extra charge but its at the top of the stairs, so only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarn0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fevva, Owner at The Old Store Guest House, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your review and your positive comments. However, I am sorry that you seem to be, on the whole, disappointed with your stay. I would like to address some of the points that you make.

I served you afternoon tea when you arrived, with my home-made date and walnut cake. Sometimes I bake scones, sometimes cake, sometimes cookies, and on this occassion it was cake.

My home-baked bread was served, toasted, at breakfast along with homemade jams and marmalade. I use locally milled flour from Lurgashall Mill at the Weald and Downland Museum for the wholemeal bread.

The shower gel and shampoo in your shower room are made for us by Carole Holmes, a local aromatherapist who trades under the name Mellow Skincare and whose products can be found at http://mellowskincare.co.uk. Carole's card can be found in the toiletries basket. We are very happy with her products, her green credentials and her business ethics and have no plans to change supplier.

I am sorry that you found the walk to the pub somewhat hazardous. Being in the country, it gets very dark; we have torches available for the walk and I regret that we did not make you aware of this.

The wedding that you attended is in a beautiful location but several miles into the countryside. Our guest house is en-route, and so the cost of the taxi journey would be much the same whether it starts from Chichester or from here.

For future guests, it may be worth noting that we are on a regular bus route to Chichester, and we often bus in for a meal and then return by taxi, saving a little on the taxi bill. Alternatively, our local pub, The Anglesey Arms, serves very good food and is only 150m away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
83
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Four of us spent a very nice 4 days at The Old Store. The rooms were charming, impeccably clean, and offered nice amenities including chocolates, cookies and bottled water. And, importantly, the bed were most comfy and we enjoyed a good night's sleep.

Breakfast offered a good choice to accommodate most tastes, nicely presented, and cooked to perfection.

Patrick & Heather were always available when needed and yet not intrusive. They have a lovely place, conveniently located to Chichester, and many other destination sites. We would highly recommend The Old Store for a hospitable, pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotia-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fevva, Owner at The Old Store Guest House, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay at The Old Store. Patrick and I are very glad that you enjoyed your break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

On a business trip in the Chichester area for 4 nights this B&B was very convenient to Chichester and surrounding area about 5 minutes north of the A27. Clean, comfortable rooms with free wireless internet meant work related reports could be finished off on time. Friendly, hospitable service from Patrick & Heather made all the difference to the stay. The coup de la resistance was the fresh breakfast using locally sourced produce which set me up for the day.
Highly recommended for business & leisure stays

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9grapeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

First class service , Home from home comfort .. Great value for money too . Nice location for Goodwood. Will be looking forward to booking again soon in the new year ... The host are very helpful with the booking

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed for 3 nights on a work trip and really enjoyed this Guesthouse. The room was lovely with a comfortable bed, fully equipped plus welcome extras such as beautiful locally sourced toiletries, cotton wool balls, hair dryer, and an excellent selection of complimentary hot drinks. The bathroom was spotless and sparkling with fine quality fittings and a good power shower.
Breakfast was a treat and I had planned to 'hold back' but couldn't resist the choice! Many different hot items freshly cooked to order, but also divine home-made marmalade, fresh fruit salad and much more. Attention to detail was evident everywhere and I would definitely like to return with my family next time.
Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willows4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Location superb (Cose to Chichester)
Breakfast Superb (Locally Sourced - nice)
Accomodation Superb (Clean, modern etc)
Owners Superb (helpful, always keen to help etc)
Price (Reasonable for accomodation)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here with a party of friends and family whilst in Chichester for our sons wedding. We were made extremely welcome, nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend it. Just one thing - the stairs, however once you got used to them! There is one room on the ground floor and this is recommended for the less able. Thank you for having us and helping make the wedding such a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileanbeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
6.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
5.4 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
2.3 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Store Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Store Guest House

Property: The Old Store Guest House
Address: Stane Street | Halnaker, Chichester PO18 0QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Store Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the village shop and bakery, our delightful 18th Century house is situated by the Goodwood Estate. Come and relax in our freshly decorated beamed bedrooms, with en-suite shower rooms and all home comforts. Our acclaimed breakfasts offer a choice of main courses, produced using local ingredients whenever we can source them, and home made breads, jams and marmalade. in the delightful dining room. Enjoy a cup of tea in the garden, or visit The Anglesey Arms across the road for excellent lunchtime and evening dining. Enclosed car park. The Old Store was awarded an Editor's choice Award for a Value Hotel, and is also recommended by Britain's Finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Old Store Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Store Guest House Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing