We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venison!”

The Old House at Home
Ranked #25 of 242 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great venison!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Visited recently for a meal with friends and the food was fantastic. Two of our party had the venison steak and said it was the best they had tasted! Beautifully cooked food, friendly, welcoming hosts = we shall be back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melonie-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    70
    19
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always a winner!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Wednesday night £10 special.,, pie and a pint! Lovely :)
Never had a poor meal here... Hidden away but worth the effort finding it!

Helpful?
1 Thank NJV007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I am from Brighton and was in Southampton for the day and found this place via tripadvisor and cask marque, what a beautiful little place, brilliant selection of real ale and a fantastic menu on Sundays, great selection 3 of us had I went with the home made chicken ham and leek pie, with a beautiful crust there was not fault with any of the food, great portions mum went as far as saying the best pub roast he has ha in a very long time! Lovely service very attentive staff and a very clean environment

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carden15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Service and Food”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Read some great reviews about this pub, so we decided to go last Wednesday evening. Luckily I called and booked a table as between 6.30 and 8pm the pub was very busy and would probably not have got a table at that time of day.

Wednesday is specials evening and the options were Fish (Huss) and Chips, Chilli or Steak and Ale pie with a pint of beer and glass of wine.

The also had a main menu and a specials board. All looked good.

We opted for a starter to share, marinated olives, Serrano ham and goats cheese and marinated artichokes hearts, pepper dews filled with cream cheese and fresh cut chunky bread. Very nice.

For main we had a steak and ale pie and fish and chips. We then realised we did not really need to the start as well as we were quite full.

Great food, great pub and service was excellent and very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not bad, hoping it was a rare 'off' night...”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Three of us went or an evening meal. Not so much greeted, but grunted at by the female owner (I think she was the owner). No 'please, thank you' or even smiles, just very, very blunt responses, we seemed to be bothering her wit our custom.

Had pâté / whotebate / breaded cheese to start. Pâté was very watery, whitebait were fab, cheese was pre-bought and bland.

Side order of onion rings were too greasy and competent tasteless, would have sent back, but feared response.


Mains were two of the liver and bacon and one pie. Liver was sub-standard, had connective tissue in it, some small pieces to be expected, but not big unchewable ones! My pie was excellent! The only fault was the gravy - seemed bizarre that the gravy for the liver was the same as for my pie...

Beer was well kept and well consumed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SelenaBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old House at Home also viewed

Walderton, Chichester
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Old House at Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing