We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly village pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old House at Home

The Old House at Home
Ranked #27 of 233 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly village pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Pop in for a bite to eat with a range of bar snacks or main meals or simply come and have a drink. Excellent food and a nice selection of beers.This pub can be cosy in winter with an open fire or you can sit in the large cottage garden in the summer. With friendly long serving staff quick service and value for money this pub has everything for a nice meal out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    69
    17
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grumpy landlady and staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Whenever I go here it's always the same. Grumpy faced landlady. Whines about dogs. Food so average. Real shame wish someone nicer would take it over

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely warm welcome and the staff are really helpful. The food is great, I had a baguette and my friend had a delicious chicken burger. I especially enjoyed the apple and blackberry crumble.

Helpful?
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayshott, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday lunch after the estuary walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Perfect day, perfect food with cgood hoices on the menu for us all including ginger ice cream with our crumbles. Absolutely no faults found. None of us chose a traditional Sunday roast but I am sure that would have been as good as any of the other choices we made. Loos seemed refurbished too! Everything done with a smile and cheeky comments from the staff which was great and they also welcomed the three dogs we had with us, albeit we were outside...I think we could have taken them inside if necessary.
We have visited many times before but it seems to get better every time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrannySue259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a pub lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We are a walking group of 6 and used this lovely pub on Monday 24/3/14 for lunch. My wife and I, as leaders of the walk, also tested it on Friday lunchtime on 21/3/14.
On both occasions we thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the ambience of the property. Very unusually the pub looks after its regular drinkers in the main bar with the same dedication that the diners enjoy. Often 'regulars' are discouraged to make way for more profitable dining places. The property is beautifully maintained, the genuine home made food is first class and excellent value for the quality offered. We all ate off the set daily special menu which offers 2 or 3 courses at fixed prices. We were impressed to note the menu had completely changed on our second visit.

The different staff on both days were all so friendly and attentive - their service couldn't be faulted. The only blot on this otherwise enthusiastic recommendation is the coffee. Landlord please consider using cafetiere instead of the pot which had stewed ours!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quintus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old House at Home also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Old House at Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing