We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit planned already.”
Review of Ten Chichester

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chichester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ten Chichester
Ranked #18 of 69 Chichester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, England
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Return visit planned already.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This Spring we discovered this wonderful part of Sussex, and Ten Chichester, a superbly-run B&B very conveniently situated for the town centre, is one of the best things there. We enjoyed a most comfortable 4 night stay at a daily rate of £80. The bed in our large, tastefully-furnished room pulled off the difficult trick of being soft and supportive at the same time; the milk provided in metal flasks is the real thing rather than the ubiquitous ( and universally detested) UHT; the room TV is the latest type and so easy to use; the wardrobe hangers are the normal type in place of the annoying captive variety; loads of storage space is provided; room heating is efficient and flexible; there are comprehensive guides to local attractions and a delightful lounge is available downstairs.

Nothing is too much trouble for Kamala. There is no formulaic aspect to her concern for her guests, and it shows in her distinctively personal approach. Varied breakfast choices include a very good fried option and generously-sized individual coffee carafes. Service is faultless.

As in so many places these days, Chichester can be a parking nightmare, so the safe, onsite facility at Ten is not the least of its attractions. The short, level walk into town means that the car can stay there, while you enjoy the wide range of eating places and happily thumb your nose at the drink-drive regulations.

So much more remains for us to explore in this lovely corner of England and when we return next year it will be for another stay in this great B&B.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the window open, ask for the room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barnabee797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
48
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Thank you Kamala and Alex for your very warm welcome and we were sorry that we couldn't stay with you longer. EVERYTHING ABOUT TEN CHICHESTER WAS PERFECT, including the City of Chichester and the local restaurants situated nearby. With very best wishes from us both and we look forward to having more interesting discussions with you perhaps next year!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Such a beautiful B&B. We stayed in the gorgeous turquoise room and were thoroughly spoilt by our hosts. The B&B is a short walk into town where you can find places to explore and yummy pubs and restaurants to eat. Arundel is also a short drive away and well worth a visit. Ten is a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissTSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvedere, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Duke of Wellington's address was Number 1 London. I wonder if the owners of this establishment took up the same idea but finding themselves a few ranks lower. Our room was large enough to include two easy chairs and dressing table so plenty of room to relax after a long day out and at the same time enjoy a nice cuppa - including rooibos and very moorish homemade(?) bickies. The large bed was very sleep inducing and well soundproofed from the early morning traffic.The en suite was compact to say the least. The shelf above the small basin was just in the right place on which to bash your head when bending down to rinse the face.
The downstairs sitting room was comfortable, well stocked with books and interesting items - and confectionery. We enjoyed a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and cooked to order English for breakfast. Mine hosts were welcoming and chatty and we felt at ease in their house which is well located for the 10-15 minute walk into town. We would stay here again and not bother looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joebelvedere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in February for the weekend of my wedding with my bridal party. We were very welcomed by Kamala and Alex who were more than happy for us to take over their b&b for the weekend, we even had the hairdresser, makeup artist and photographer there!! The house is lovely, the rooms are spacious and each one is individually decorated, it feels like a home from home. The breakfast was great, the off road parking is a bonus but most of all the fantastic hosts made this a wonderful weekend. I would highly recommend staying here if visiting Chichester. Looking forward to visiting again!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed her with the bridal party of my best friends wedding. Kamala and Alex were fantastic hosts, very accommodating and were very friendly and helpful. The house was gorgeous and each room had individual character as well as good space. It didn't feel like we were staying in a standard B&B. Kamala and Alex were there if you needed them but out of sight. They didn't mind us girls taking over the downstairs for hair and makeup the morning of the wedding either. I'll definitely be booking this B&B when I have family staying for my own wedding next year, can't wait to visit again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have stayed at Ten Chichester once a month for almost a year now, when I am down for business, and have never been disappointed. Kamala and Alex are fantastic hosts and the quality of the rooms and breakfast is second to none in the area.

I've stayed in a number of other places in Chichester and its surroundings that range from hotels to other B&Bs (including some that are above Ten Chichester in the rankings) and do not think that they compare.

I would thoroughly recommend Ten Chichester to anyone considering stopping down in the area for business, holiday etc.

Room Tip: There are three different rooms each with their own unique character and design. One of them is a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mn9ajas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
0.3 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
869 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Old Store Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Chichester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Chichester

Property: Ten Chichester
Address: 10 Whyke Road, Chichester PO19 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Chichester is a comfortable and informal home from home, bed & breakfast, with private off road parking. Situated just a five minute stroll from the centre of Chichester, and a 10 minutes walk from the railway station. We are conveniently situated for all your trips to Goodwood and the coast. For easy getaways East and West, the A27 is just down the road and for those prefering a more relaxed mode of travel why not take the train and enjoy a day out in London or Brighton. Ten Chichester is pleased to be able to offer, secure off road parkiing facilities for up to 4 cars. We aim to offer outstanding service and quality, by supporting locally owned business within our community, and sources food and services from them as first choice. If you are looking for a relaxing or active few days away from home, a creative break or have an interest in history, Chichester and West Sussex are wonderful place to come and explore your interests. If you choose to stay with us at, Ten Chichester Bed and Breakfast, we hope we can make you feel comfortable, and your stay memorable and enjoyable. Why not try us..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ten Chichester West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing