We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful little cafe, great food, tea and coffee”
Review of Apple Cafe

Apple Cafe
Ranked #83 of 239 Restaurants in Chichester
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful little cafe, great food, tea and coffee”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is a small but delightful cafe situated on the first floor of Waterstones, open weekdays 10:00-4pm, Sundays 11:00-3pm. I come to Chichester about once a fortnight and when I do, this is the first place I head to for breakfast/brunch and coffee. Reasons:

Food: Excellent, all home-made with good ingredients. The scones are excellent, the coffee is strong and tasty, perfect for waking me up in the morning. There is a full range of cakes and shortbreads - flapjacks, raspberry and coconut slices, chocolate and caramel slices, lemon drizzle cake, chocolate chip shortbreads and more. The meals served are all breakfasts and lunches as they usually close at 4pm. These are all good quality and delicious. Gluten-free options available as noted by another reviewer.

Environment: Clean, hygienic, bright due to the large windows on one side letting sunlight in, cosy. Wonderful view of the Cathedral. Windows can be opened by customers for ventilation. The chairs and tables are all wood. Although it is a small cafe I always get a place. There's also the added bonus of this cafe being in a bookstore, so one has a wide range of books to read with coffee! Always nice. There is also a shelf on which the Waterstone's Top 10 books are displayed, to be taken down and mused through at one's pleasure.

Service: Some of the nicest I've ever met, friendly, courteous and helpful. Orders always arrive on time and with a smile.

Prices: Reasonable. Beverage prices are the same as you find elsewhere at £2 - £2.50 for a regular cup. Refill slightly cheaper. Meals are less than £10.

.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseRed7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OK Cafe. Good atmosphere - but avoid the hot chocolate!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

In an ancient building in Chichester's West Street Waterstones manages to be a "real" bookshop. Upstairs, the Apple Cafe with views out over the Cathedral is a bright and friendly place to while away some time with a coffee and cake. The coffee is OK but the hot chocolate is thin and really not nice. A decent selection of cakes etc. tempt. Light meals are also available.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gluten-free food as well!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Delicious gluten-free pastry & cakes available here, along with their other delightful food. What a find!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meriel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, good value, books and a view!”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We were wandering round Chichester at about three in the afternoon, desperate to find something to eat that was not a full meal, but tasty and inexpensive. At the fourth try we lucked out with the Apple cafe on the first floor of Waterstones in West Street.

It's light and airy as the windows are south facing, with views of the cathedral across the road. We looked at the menu of soups, wraps, quiches and salads and knew that we had found what we wanted.

We both had the lentil soup - me with a cheese scone, him with a chunk of soft granary bread and butter. The was tasty and good quality. The tea was teapigs. The cakes looked scrummy and we will be back to try them.

There is a shelf with the current top ten best selling books and people were taking them down to read with their food or drink.

The service was excellent - friendly, smiley, attentive but not intrusive. This place is a gem and we will be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caiparinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lunch and books”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Food tasty with consistently good quality ingredients. The Mackeral and beetroot with radish is J's favourite and we also have enjoyed the soups and saandwiches. Coffee strong - a choice of sizes would be welcome especially with 2 shorts. Service friendly and prompt - nice views of Cathedral if you get a window seat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevejenny5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apple Cafe also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Apple Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing